We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a nice service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Markten Cafe

De Markten Cafe
Ranked #2,598 of 3,490 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Such a nice service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The mix of a great location and a nice staff could not be better. This is all you want if you are tstill asleep and need a nice breakfast. That was what i found there. Staff longing to help, nice and friendly. Good food. Delicious coffee.
The café is located around a nice square, full of cafés and cheerful people. Great atmosphere!
I totally recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HerrRust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    31
    22
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a lovely waiter who was very accommodating and spoke English. The service was very slow and the cafe was let down by the food.The meat and bread seemed stale as if it had been left out all morning as it was dry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RestedNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value fresh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I'm surprised this cafe hasn't received more feedback. It is a bustling place with very fresh food, big portions and good prices. I wish I had more time to try out more of the menu.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food let down by rude service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice outside seating in the square and delicious breakfast, especially the cheese breakfast! Good value- we were full until late afternoon. However all this was badly let down by one waitress. Service on the continent is often straightforward and brusque, and bring well travelled we know this and aren't bothered by it, but on our first visit she was miserable bordering on rude. We went the day after despite this; however, this time the way she spoke to us and what she said was so rude that, after being stunned into silence, we actually got up and left. We saw her behaving in a similar way to other customers on our first visit. A shame, as this is a nice cafe with good food but because of that member of staff I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1982_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sundays: Don't go there if you don't have children”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Went there for sunday brunch recently, not a wonderful experience. Place was crowded with the local bobo's with children and they all seemend to know each other and they all seemed to be very loud. Doesn't bother me reatly, but company was not greatly in for this on what was supposed to be a lazy sunday :)
Als we were seated way before the time when the brunck/breakfast formula was supposed to end, only the waitress didn't deign to come to our table until 1 minute AFTER that time, and inform us that we coulld'n have the brunch/breakfast anymore because we were too late... Okay, since this was going to be a lazy sunday, let's NOT get up and leave, but choose something else from the menu. Oops, no, not possible, we'd have to wait for at least half an hour, because the kitchen now had to 'make the shift' from brunch-mode to normal-mode. Djeez!
And yes, i'm a local too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sukiyaki-lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Markten Cafe also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to De Markten Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing