We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Wavre Brussels East
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wavre
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hotel located by the highway just outside Wavre it is not as good as it seems when you step in.
Rooms are ok, even if you cannot adjust room temperature as you wish, but bathroom and toilet are far away from being clean and needs to be renovated.
The hotel has a big parking area, some conference rooms, a nice restaurant and an acceptable drink area.
The breakfast level is basic but the quality is not bad.
The hotel is far way from everything if you dont have a car.
All together is a place to stay no longer than one night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Typ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 245 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Good family hotel with playground and (outdoor) swimming pool for children. Easy access from highway exit 6 (Wavre). Close (walking distance) to entertainment park. Friendly staff.
We stood overnight during a summer weekend for a short extra vacation in the Ardennes/Namur region (as most hotels in and around Namur were fully booked). Not a bad choice.

Few 'negatives':
Swimming pool was not heated, not really a problem in August though. Outdoor area is a bit noisy due to the proximity of the highway. Bathrooms need some upgrade, currently they look a bit like plastic years 80's offshore or ship accommodations..

Room Tip: On hot summer days it is advisable to have a room on the lower floor with view to the parking; this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martijn-t-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I don't know how to explain the weird smell in this hotel but it is not pleasant. My husband and I were here for his business trip. Their motto is " the art to feel at home" but I don't feel at home at all. The pillows, bed, towels, and toilet paper are very low quality. The room is spacious though and includes a sofa for the most part it's clean except the bad smell. The staff gives you plenty of privacy and can be helpful some of the time although sometimes not very friendly about it as if it's a hassle to provide customer service. The wifi has some ridiculous fees and it's not even very fast. The restaurant food looks good but doesn't taste as good and it's not even open when it says it should be. It seems they charge you for everything even to make local phone calls, luckily they let us use the reception phone to order pizza. At least they have a single computer in the lobby you can use to access internet without paying the ridiculous fees. However, my husband's company has an account set up with them for the employees to use the wifi and they didn't even inform him. He found out from the company after asking about it. They told us the air conditioning isn't working and the room got a little warm and times but since the weather was pretty cool outside we could just open the window although that wasn't pleasant because you could hear all the cars off the highway. Overall I'd prefer not to stay here again but there's not a whole lot around this town and at least it's a good size and the free breakfast is pretty good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudsr00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Rip-off prices for internet in the room made me angry. It is just not fair to charge 12EUR for 5 hours of internet! Also hotel restaurant was serving absolutely not tasty food. Gave it away to the cat that was roaming in the restaurant hall (why cats are in the same place where people eat?). Service was also strange - people taking orders did not speak English, though most of guests are not local people. Come on, are you a service industry or what?
Room was heavily used and badly maintained. Air conditioner seemed to freeze everything around, was not possible to stop it. Had to cover it with a towel. Refill of a small tray with 2 teabags and sugar sticks was 5EUR...greedy hotel owners probably save money for reconstruction...I don' t know.
At the end credit card was not accepted for payment and reception of course blamed credit card company for that. Though I paid flexible rate for my stay could feel comfortable there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank koneslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

You need a reaon to overnight in Wavre, and unless you're a fan of water parks (there's one within walking distance, across a busy highway), it's business that brings you to this hotel. What's not to like about this operation? The beds are firm, the neighborhood is ultra-quiet, the bar is provisioned with good Belgium beer. But--at least in June 2011 when I was there--they did not provide in-room wireless. Motel 3 in Back Acre, Arkansas provides free wi-fi--why can't these "better" European hostelries do the same?

Room Tip: No room is exposed to traffic noise as the hotel is situated in its own little park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank guillaume51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stayed here once before, two years ago, and it hasn't changed a bit. It's still clean and friendly. It's still in the middle of nowhere, which they can't of course do anything about.

But it is increasingly unacceptable for a hotel not to have wi-fi (they say they do, but in fact it doesn't work, as other reviewers have also noted) nor a gym, especially since you literally cannot walk out from the hotel as it is surrounded by highways and an industrial park. The elevator holds only 3 people at a time. The toilets are in tiny little molded-fiberglass pods. The lighting in the rooms is inadequate for anyone trying to read or work.

All in all, it's time for them to make a little effort to modernize this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spadina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was our stop over hotel on a coach holiday to Austria from the UK but there were many other private guests staying there as well.

A smart and modern hotel which I would class as a business hotel. It has a large car park and a swimming pool and patio / garden which we did not have time to use. A small lift near reception takes you to floors 1 to 3. The lift gets crowded when coach parties arrive and all wish to get to their rooms but at other times is perfectly adequate. There is another lift at the other end of the hotel.

Rooms were largish, modern, and clean as was the bathroom which has a bath and separate shower unit. The toilet is separate to the bathroom and on the small side. Liquid soap and shower gel provided in large fixed bottles. Fridge in room (un- stocked) which I guess you could use to keep drinks cold. Double rooms had a double bed and a double sofa bed. Both were made up for a couple staying in the room so you could have a bed each. Very comfortable beds. A couple of spare power sockets in the room to charge up phones, use a hair dryer etc but the sockets have a solid earth pin so make sure any adapter for UK equipment has a hole to take this pin otherwise it will not fit. We were surprised that tea & coffee making facilities were in the room (powdered milk) as well. Extra sets of coffee, tea etc are 5 Euros. TV has German, French, and UK channels (e.g. BBC1, ITV 1).

Breakfasts are self service and consist of fruit salad, pastries, breads, meats / cheeses, jams, yoghurt, and cooked (sausage balls, scrambled eggs, baked beans, and bacon pieces). You help yourself to coffee, tea etc from a large modern machine.

For our dinner we had set meal choices (Approx. 20 Euros for a three course meal ) e.g. soup, fish (actually fish cakes rather than whole fish) & chips, spaghetti bolognese, burger & chips / salad, mushroom & bacon tagliatelle, apple pie etc but there was an extensive menu for those wishing to have something else (more expensive).

There is also a reasonably sized bar area next to reception serving the normal range of drinks and coffee / tea. Wine was about 5 Euros and beer 4 Euros. Soft drinks and tea / coffee were less.

You can use a computer near reception to access the internet or there is a cable connection in the bedroom and wifi (all chargeable). I tried to use my BT password as they were stated to be a partner and access would be free but it did not work. There was adequate voice/ data reception via my smartphone in the hotel.

Overall a perfectly acceptable hotel which I would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TiptreeJams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wavre
0.4 mi away
ibis Wavre Hotel
ibis Wavre Hotel
#1 of 6 in Wavre
27 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Wavre Hotel
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Limelette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Meeting Center Louvain la Neuve
Ibis Styles Meeting Center Louva...
#1 of 1 in Louvain-la-Neuve
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Hotel
At Home Hotel
#5 of 6 in Wavre
34 reviews
6.8 mi away
Dolce la Hulpe Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wavre Brussels East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wavre Brussels East

Address: Rue de la Wastinne 45, Wavre 1301, Belgium (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Wavre)
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Walloon Brabant Province > Wavre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wavre
Price Range: $65 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wavre Brussels East 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Wavre Brussels East: 102 comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi, a pleasant restaurant with international cooking linked to a bar where you can taste Belgian beers! For your pleasure : volleyball, badminton, football, outside swimming pool, children playground, big garden with terrace. 15 Minutes walk from the famous Walibi theme park and its tropical swimming pool: Aqualibi. 25 Minutes by car from Brussels City Centre and the Grand Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Wavre Brussels East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing