We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the monument, poor wifi”
Review of Le 1815 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le 1815 Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waterloo
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My wife and I planned to stay 2 nights, but to be honest there isn't enough to do in Waterloo to make it worthwhile. The hotel is pleasant but lacking in refinement. The front was affected by building work on the road and it all looked a bit messy. The wifi just didn't work, it looked as if we had signal but nothing worked which was irritating. We didn't eat in the hotel and the staff were friendly enough, but it's not somewhere we'd stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank iain2eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 138 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location of this hotel cannot be beaten if you are interested in the Battle of Waterloo, however when my son and I travelled there this July (2014), it was hotter than any room I have ever been in. The only time I can remember being hotter and more comfortable is camping in Sicily more than thirty years ago! In our room, Reille (named for a Napoleonic commander), there were three windows - one in the shape of a porthole. They were all SCREWED SHUT! This did not feel safe and led to the temperature being unbearable. In the end, we had to unscrew the porthole window and remove it. Even then, as the temperature cooled outside, the room stayed unbelievably hot. We were both sweating and the mini-bar water was consumed rapidly. I even drank a Coke Zero! Through the night, we were getting up to dunk our heads in cold water. I'm not kidding, it was terrible. The staff were very young and as we were only staying a couple of nights, we did not complain. Maybe we should have done, but what were they going to do? Knock a hole in the wall? Being on the battlefield was superb and, although we thought the restaurant too pricey, there was an excellent (really excellent) pizzeria next door, but - unless you fancy learning what it's like being inside an oven - I would avoid this place or - at least - check out which room you've got and see if the windows actually open!

Room Tip: Don't go in Reille without an air conditioning unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kentspursfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claudia_piergentili, Directeur général at Le 1815 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2015

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your stay.
We are surprised with your comment, it is true that we are a 3-star Hotel and that we have no air conditioning, all our rooms were renovated and the decoration is not "heavy" as you say it in your message. The bed are new.
The house is 100-years old and we wanted to keep this soul. We can understand that you dont appreciate it.
We are sorry to see that you did not indicate that you suffer from claustrophobia and especially that the room was to hot for you.
Indeed, we are worried about the happiness of our customers.
We would give you another room with pleasure!

Regarding the value we are completely correct, without forgetting that we are 100 m of the Mound of the Lion and on the historic site.

As regards the restaurant, it is a nice restaurant, with refined dishes.
The service is excellent, it is beautiful inside as outside (the garden) and the extraordinary cooking.
It is possible to eat a buffet already for 14 € there ! (2 dishes)
Le menu découverte for 25 € (3 dishes)
If it is always too expensive you have a pizzeria just next to the hotel with pizzas already in 9 €!

A problem explained on the spot is a solved problem!

Kind Regards

Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

A small hotel, Very well located close to the monument Butte de Lion. The hotel applies touristic prices to rooms and to food.- but little is spent on maintenance (it seems). The first thing I saw in the bathroom was an area with loose tiles- and they seemed to have been in that stage for quite some time.
The room was small but contained what was necessary. Almost.
In the midst of the summer you'll expect warm or even hot weather so at least a fan would help to make the internal environment acceptable. No such. No fridge, No A/C. But a lot of noise.
At 23:32 (exact) I thought the armies came rolling again, A noise(I'd rate it above disco level,, <110 dB) just outside my window that stopped there! I found out it was farming time! There is a large field just outside (the battle field of 1815...) which had to be worked on just that nigtht. Some 5 (or more ) enormous machines busy running over the field till just after 4 AM. Sleep? Don't think about it!
However, as this farm work will happen at least 4 times a year (and there is a lot of traffic from the adjecent roads) a serious hotel owner think of replacing the old single pane windows with modern ones, reducing the noise from the outside to just a smal fraction.Maybe there has been a thought, but so far not resulting in any improvement.
Breakfast? At 12€? Wouldn't think about it.
So I left after s sleepless night on an empty stomach - but soon found a decent place to have a decent breakfast at a decent price.

Room Tip: If there are rooms facing the backyard they might be more quiet - if you really have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is great if visiting the battlefield. Park up and walk up the road. Our room was good-clean-opening skylight for fresh air - bathroom and cosmetics quite nice. Apart from the young lady receptionist on duty the day we arrived, we found this hotel to be very impersonal. The breakfast however in our opinion was very poor indeed and at 12 Euros per person overpriced. (No toaster-no hot milk--hot drinks were from FLASKS), A very poor breakfast indeed, plus there was no one looking after the breakfast area to replenish anything. Occasionally the receptionist popped down to do whatever she had to do. Dinner we suggest- the Italian restaurant next door, excellent food-excellent price AND loads of atmosphere and customers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank realist_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel is superbly placed for visiting the Waterloo battlefield. However, there are plenty of stairs but no lifts. When we arrived we were confronted by an ambulance taking away an elderly person who had fallen down the entry steps.

The rooms are fine as was breakfast. The restaurant was closed the night we were there but there is a good enough Italian alternative very close by.

Probably a bit expensive but you are paying for the location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithfromDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is small but beautiful. Situated very near to Waterloo battle field and the memorial.
Very peaceful as it is situated outside Waterloo town. Food is OK. If you do not like then you have option of Italian, restaurant is next to the hotel. Rooms are comparatively small but well maintained. People are cordial. From some of the rooms you can see the memorial.

Room Tip: Try to have room located opposite to Waterloo memorial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Anyway, spend 1 night there in the Hill or Hull room.

Staff : friendly
Location : if you want to see the Waterloo battlefield : splendid
Parking : free & available
Restaurant : didn't visit
Breakfast : ok, variety, clean, worth 12€

Room: Bwa, small room & when you open the window (no aircon) noise of the kitchen evacuator, no views (just part of the garden), double matrasses & not even and some minor other things.
Anyway, payed 67€ (inclusive 1 breakfast) and that was rather ok (compared to official price of 92€

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Comerenkwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterloo
2 mi away
Martin's Grand Hotel
Martin's Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Waterloo
434 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Brussels Waterloo
Ibis Brussels Waterloo
#3 of 5 in Waterloo
398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Joli-Bois Hotel
Le Joli-Bois Hotel
#5 of 5 in Waterloo
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le Cote Vert
Hotel Le Cote Vert
#2 of 5 in Waterloo
116 reviews
4.9 mi away
Dolce la Hulpe Brussels
5.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Nivelles
Ibis Styles Nivelles
#1 of 2 in Nivelles
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le 1815 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le 1815 Hotel

Address: Route du Lion 367-369 | Butte du Lion, Waterloo 1410, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Walloon Brabant Province > Waterloo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range: $69 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le 1815 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1815, situated 100 Meters away from the Mound of the Lion, in a quiet place, a private parking , magnificent garden, proposes 14 standard rooms and a Suite Wellington, completely renovated, parquet, bathroom with shower and bath tub, mini bar, WiFi, new bedding, safe. The Suite Wellington ideal for a family or 4 people, a beautiful bathroom, toilets, bathtub and shower, a separate double room, with BIG SCREEN TV, and new bedding. The Restaurant 1815 proposes a good cuisine, in a trendy and cosy frame, an excellent service, a lunch from 14 € (2dishes) Discovery menu at 25 € ( 3 dishes) or a la carte meal. Conference room which can contain 40 seated people or 50 up, screen, projector, completely renovated, WiFi, direct access on the parking. Ideal for conference, meeting, banquets, presentations, events... Possibility of buffet on request. Guided tours on request for visiting the Historical Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le 1815 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing