We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and peaceful retreat with historical importance”
Review of Le 1815 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le 1815 Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waterloo
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is small but beautiful. Situated very near to Waterloo battle field and the memorial.
Very peaceful as it is situated outside Waterloo town. Food is OK. If you do not like then you have option of Italian, restaurant is next to the hotel. Rooms are comparatively small but well maintained. People are cordial. From some of the rooms you can see the memorial.

Room Tip: Try to have room located opposite to Waterloo memorial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 138 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

Anyway, spend 1 night there in the Hill or Hull room.

Staff : friendly
Location : if you want to see the Waterloo battlefield : splendid
Parking : free & available
Restaurant : didn't visit
Breakfast : ok, variety, clean, worth 12€

Room: Bwa, small room & when you open the window (no aircon) noise of the kitchen evacuator, no views (just part of the garden), double matrasses & not even and some minor other things.
Anyway, payed 67€ (inclusive 1 breakfast) and that was rather ok (compared to official price of 92€

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Comerenkwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This room was the most horrible room we had in Europe. This room was about 2.30 x 2.80 mtr with an attached bathroom. The outside wall (colour, dark grey) was under an angle with 2 small windows in the top (you can not look outside), under the two windows was another round window (like on a ship). This was hanging half open and a lot of noises where coming through that window (the whole night), like running water, kitchen etc. The fridge was really smelly, in the door was a left-over sandwich (sticker mentioned that this sandwich was overdue for a week!) I brought the sandwich to the reception-desk but they where not impressed!
The Hotel has the stickers from Tripadviser as a Tripadvisor excellence 2013 Hotel, wondering how did they get that.

Room Tip: do not stay in the Anglesey room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The standard of the hotel itself was OK but nothing special, it could do with a makeover. it clearly trades on its position next to the site of the battle of Waterloo. If you're travelling by car I suggest you look further afield for an alternative. In particular the expensive (12euros) breakfast was disappointing, average bread that seemed to have been frozen and thawed out, cooked meats and tasteless cheese. The coffee was OK when available, the flask on the buffet table ran out and it took 20 minutes for a member of staff to refill it. the restaurant for dinner was closed but there is an excellent Italian restaurant next door
All in all pretty poor, I can't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Handy for the battlefield but find an alternative hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seasonedtraveller063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is the nearest hotel to the Waterloo battlefield so brilliantly located if you're a historian and will be in much demand in June 2015, the 200th anniversary of the battle. I Our room (Marshall Ney) had excellent and thought provoking view over the battle area (now cornfields). Rooms clean on arrival but ours wasn't cleaned again during our stay of 2 nights! Weather was swelteringly hot so though beds were comfortable we couldn't sleep. Window in bedroom wide open but small bathroom window was painted shut so no ventilation in bathroom (is that legal?) and we couldn't get a through draught. When we checked out they said "you should have asked for a fan"! Why didn't they offer one in view of the 30+ deg temperature? Handrail in bath and mains plug in bedroom both hanging off the wall. So it certainly needs a bit of a makeover before the 200th anniversary as the rest of the battle site is having.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank RL48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The staff have been very helpful. Great idea that the rooms are all named after important commanders at the battle. The restaurant is very good. On one night of my three night stay I couldn't get in, it was so popular. Fortunately there is a very good restaurant twenty metres away. This is the place to stay if you want to be able to walk the battlefield and visit the Lion Mound.

I'll be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulMalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterloo
2 mi away
Martin's Grand Hotel
Martin's Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Waterloo
434 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Brussels Waterloo
Ibis Brussels Waterloo
#3 of 5 in Waterloo
398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Joli-Bois Hotel
Le Joli-Bois Hotel
#5 of 5 in Waterloo
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le Cote Vert
Hotel Le Cote Vert
#2 of 5 in Waterloo
116 reviews
4.9 mi away
Dolce la Hulpe Brussels
5.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Nivelles
Ibis Styles Nivelles
#1 of 2 in Nivelles
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le 1815 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le 1815 Hotel

Address: Route du Lion 367-369 | Butte du Lion, Waterloo 1410, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Walloon Brabant Province > Waterloo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range: $69 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le 1815 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1815, situated 100 Meters away from the Mound of the Lion, in a quiet place, a private parking , magnificent garden, proposes 14 standard rooms and a Suite Wellington, completely renovated, parquet, bathroom with shower and bath tub, mini bar, WiFi, new bedding, safe. The Suite Wellington ideal for a family or 4 people, a beautiful bathroom, toilets, bathtub and shower, a separate double room, with BIG SCREEN TV, and new bedding. The Restaurant 1815 proposes a good cuisine, in a trendy and cosy frame, an excellent service, a lunch from 14 € (2dishes) Discovery menu at 25 € ( 3 dishes) or a la carte meal. Conference room which can contain 40 seated people or 50 up, screen, projector, completely renovated, WiFi, direct access on the parking. Ideal for conference, meeting, banquets, presentations, events... Possibility of buffet on request. Guided tours on request for visiting the Historical Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le 1815 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing