We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Mechelen Ve
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I've been there alone for a business trip and I've to say that the treamtment has been superb. Very big room clean and new. I suggest for sure this hotel for those people that travel for business.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ale7012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

dear sir

thank you very much for your response. it is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. we do everything possible to make sure everybody feels at home in our hotel.

see you next time.

best wishes

Hannelore Verschueren
Mangager/ owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 340 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have never slept on a better bed in my whole life!!! The breakfast had big variety (you must ask for eggs) but I think the quality was not so good, especially for the rate you give. The hotel gave us a free drink which was in my opinion a "clever" offer from their side.The location is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine189400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

dear sir

thank you very much for your response. it makes me happy to read that you liked our beds. we think it's very important to sleep well when you're away from home. we invested in good boxspring beds with a special Trevira topper on top, which adapts to your body position during sleeping.
sorry to hear that you didn't really enjoy our breakfast, we do our very best to please everybody with a wide variety of products and with the eggs that we bake for everybody.
all our guests receive a free welcome drink in our loungy Vé Café with view on the river Dijle.

I hope to welcome you again soon;

best wishes

hannelore Verschueren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Room at the front of hotel had a lovely outlook on to the busy courtyard outside. Room was well appointed not huge, but comfortable. The reception and bar manager were really good hosts and helpful and accommodating. The mojitos well worth a try, and breakfast was simple and nice. If you want tranquility ask for a back room. It was 29 degrees when we were there, so I was happy to have opening windows and drink my wine looking out over the water....Thanks for a pleasant and memorable experience

Room Tip: Front rooms noisy, but great to watch the busy street below....Small nice hotel..would stay again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misspiggy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Mrs.

Thank you very much for this positive review. We do all we can to make sure our guest's stay is unforgettable in Hotel Mercure Vé.

Hope to see you soon by a nice cocktail on the terrace.

best wishes

hannelore Verschueren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Mechelen Ve is a beautifully restored property with plenty of nods to its history as a fish smoking warehouse. The rooms are comfortable, the bar and breakfast area were welcoming but for me the winning feature was the helpful nature of the staff.

Hannelore in particular was terrific. From providing restaurant recommendations and marking out a walking tour map of the city to offering to do chocolate shopping for me while I was at work, this is among the best personalized service I have encountered.

If you can afford the price tag, this is a great place to stay at :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Used to be family-owned and joined the Mercure chain without loosing its character. Decoration is fine, rooms are large and well furnished. Only downside: as it is an old fish smoking plant, corridors and stairs are very cold in the wintertime !

Room Tip: There are 2 sizes of rooms. Prices vary in function of size indeed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garzagul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This is a modern hotel located at the Vismarkt in the centre of Mechelen. There is a very nice terrace outside the hotel which was fully occupied during the Friday and Saturday afternoon we were there. Mechelen has a good 'student' atmosphere with lots of restaurants and bars around the city.
People at the hotel reception were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Very central, need to follow the instructions to their secure parking due to the roadworks, one-way system & pededtrian area.
Right in the canal side bars & bistro restaurants.
Good breakfast & helpful staff who speak English, French 7 German as well as Flemish.
Air Con helpful in bedroom & stunning conversion from fish smoking warehouse to modern hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Res38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear family

thank you very much for your review. It's good hearing that you found our hotel. Indeed we are in the middle of town city centre and so in a pedestrian only area. as from this week we have a very handy road description to an underground parking, which is situated at 50 meters from our hotel. we 've put the description in all our mails, so everybody can find our hotel easilyby car and still enjoy the car-free centre of Mechelen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechelen hotels
0.2 mi away
Martin's Patershof
Martin's Patershof
#1 of 11 in Mechelen
1,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
#2 of 11 in Mechelen
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#4 of 11 in Mechelen
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VixX Hotel
VixX Hotel
#5 of 11 in Mechelen
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
0.5 mi away
Best Western Htl Gulden Anker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Mechelen Ve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Mechelen Ve

Address: Vismarkt 14, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mechelen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mechelen
#6 Business Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range: $104 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Mechelen Ve 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mercure Vé is located in the dazzling city of Mechelen along the river Dijle. Our hotel is situated in a former fish smokery dating from 1923. On walking distance from the hotel you will find trendy restaurants, bars, shops and musea. Our goal is to make our guests feel home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Mechelen Ve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
vé Hotel Mechelen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing