We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Pleasent”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Good business Hotel with good service and still the availibility to have a smoking room.
Clean and correct.
Excellent Restaurant. Dishes are served very nice and all is always very tastefull!
A recommendable place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    299
    59
    10
    7
See reviews for
134
153
26
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Very friendly and a professsional staff. Great location, many restaurants within walking distance. Breakfasts are very good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2010

I am glad to stay in this hotel, it was a little bit hard to find from the Mechelen Train Station.. I also think they should also add infomation on how to get to the hotel by public transport and walking.. not only how to drive there..
But the rooms are clean and spacious.. service is very good and location is central..
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schiller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I used to stay more than 10 times during last three years. Sometimes it is fully booked because of different cooperative events - so book in advance otherwise will have to stay in Holiday Inn, which is near by and much worth.

There are variety of different meals during breakfast. There is available good restaurant and the bar. I would recoment it as a first choice for Mechelen!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wirpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Arrived in Mechelen after a long drive from London late at night to find that the car park at this hotel is actually seperate from Novotel and they do not have even a concessionary rate, yes i know i should not have assumed but have driven around most of europe and this is the first time i have stayed at a hotel with absolutely no parking provision at all, rate is expensive, 18 Euros per night, however, car park is well lit, safe and clean and next door to the hotel.

That aside, you cannot fault this hotel, receptionist on arrival was efficeint, very helpful and friendly, rooms are very much as you would expect from Novotel, clean, basic, comfortable and well looked after, nothing amazing and probabaly a little soul-less for some people. Breakfast was good quality and lots of choice, decent coffee and clean/comfortable breakfast room, breakfast supervsior seemed moody and disinterested, but then i am too early in the morning. Room rate of 65Euros pn. inc .tax and Breakfast was fantastic value for money. Bed was very comfotable, but pillows were rubbish, too small and too flat although as it was absolutely silent at night, we had two decent nights sleep, no outside noise and no drunken idiots coming back late at night
(appreciate this last bit is mainly English hotels only, wasn't expecting it in mechelen)

Bar and Public areas were well looked after, clean and comfortable, there is also free internet in the lobby area which is useful.

Overall then, i have to say i liked this hotel, especially as the location puts you right in the heart of Mechelen but with fast easy access to the ring road if you want to travel around as we did. Mechelen itself is fairly compact, but a beautiful city with very friendly people, there is also a decent selection of bars/restaurants nearby which were quiet without being lifeless, perfect combination when you want to relax.

If the parking charge is a little too much, there is meter parking available about 10 min walk away and some free parking down in the centre of the town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrRedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechelen hotels
0.1 mi away
Martin's Patershof
Martin's Patershof
#1 of 11 in Mechelen
999 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#4 of 11 in Mechelen
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Mechelen Ve
Mercure Mechelen Ve
#3 of 11 in Mechelen
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
0.3 mi away
VixX Hotel
VixX Hotel
#5 of 11 in Mechelen
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Htl Gulden Anker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Mechelen Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Mechelen Centrum

Property: Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Address: Van Beethovenstraat 1, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Mechelen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mechelen
#3 Business Hotel in Mechelen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Mechelen Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Mechelen Centrum is a 4 star hotel located in the heart of Mechelen, in the trendy and lively district of the Fish Market, right next to the Dyle. It features 122 spacious and comfortable rooms, a bar and restaurant, plus 5 meeting rooms for conferences and seminars. This hotel is equally suited to business trips and holidays in Mechelen. Make the most of your stay by taking advantage of our fitness centre, hammam and bicycle hire. Parking is available for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Mechelen Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Mechelen Centrum Hotel Mechelen
Mechelen Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing