We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gets the job done, but no extras”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“gets the job done, but no extras”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The room is rather large, and easy to use for morning fitness.
The Internet access (included) is rather slow, but gets the job done in terms of email and Instant messaging.
The Breakfast is okay, but missing things like omelettes and Bacon.
The Bed is comfortable, and the in-room kettle with tea is rather useful.
Overall, its ok but nothing special, as one would expect from a hotel chain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Gil Z,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. It is thanks to your remarks and observations we can improve our servcie in the future.
Thank you again and hope to welcome you again the next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    128
    55
    14
    10
See reviews for
36
64
22
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just returned from a business trip and stayed for two weeks in this HI express, We had two rooms and had to cater for a three year old child. Rooms were a good size. We cannot praise the staff enough they were polite, friendly and very helpful from the night porter to the cleaning staff, The manager even lent us a couple of chairs to use at the Eutantica Fine Art Fair where we exhibited.
Breakfast is plain but o.k. Rooms very clean. near the centre to walk to restaurants. They did run out of Large bottles of white wine at the bar. Also has car park though gets full at the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Margendy,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to inform us about your findings of our hotel. It is very nice to read you had a good stay with us and that our staff was really helpfull and friendly. I will surely share your comments with them!
Thank you again and hope to see you again next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had a corner room and it was enormous: almost as big as the ground floor in my own house!

Service was OK and the breakfast was excellent. The location is good as well, close to the main square. Free wifi was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Gareth H,

Thank you very much for your comments! We enjoy reading you had a good stay with us.
Hope to welcome you again next time you travel to Mechelen so you can feel at home again as if you were in your own home on the ground floor!

Regards,
Joris Keimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
België
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good value parking beside the hotel
Check-in was friendly and correct.
Rooms: clean, nice bed + silent athmosphere.
Area: ideal for weekend shopping. Nearby many cosy shops, cool pubs, good restaurants.
Breakfast: as expected in H I Express. Everything a person needs to start a new day was available + staff was attentive.
check out: friendly + correct
Summary: perfectly prized hotel with high standard values situated in the heart of where the action is.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeroensantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at holiday inn express in 2010 went to belgian gp for birthday and we got this accommodation as part of package.. Rooms clean and all you need for a couple of night short break. Decent breakfast buffet and the bar staff friendly and attentive. Had a great stay and only minutes walk from nice square.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Basic facilities - always seems to be something wrong with the rooms such as noisy airco, smell of smoke coming in from smoker's floor through air distribution.
Adequate for one or two nights, not more. Location is good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Bradaan,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments with us.
It is thanks to your remarks and observations that we can improve our service in the future. We will surely follow up on your comments and have out technicians check this.
Hope to welcome you again the next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Pros: Took the train from the airport to Mechelen City center and an 8 Euro cab to the hotel. Hotel staff extremely helpful. Room very spacious. Free Wi-Fi and breakfast included.

Cons: The system wasn't accepting my Jet Privilege number. Only one power point in the entire room and too on the study table. No points near the bed.

Room Tip: Try getting a room with a sofa. It costs the same and you get additional space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marwahankit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechelen hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
#2 of 11 in Mechelen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martin's Patershof
Martin's Patershof
#1 of 11 in Mechelen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#4 of 11 in Mechelen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Mechelen Ve
Mercure Mechelen Ve
#3 of 11 in Mechelen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Htl Gulden Anker
0.2 mi away
VixX Hotel
VixX Hotel
#5 of 11 in Mechelen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
Address: Veemarkt 37 C, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the atmosphere of Mechelen's historic quarter at the Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre hotel. Flanked by centuries-old architecture, the inviting Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is in the heart of Mechelen. Just a short walk from the town square and with easy access to the ring road, you can park in our secure underground car park when you arrive. Connect to complimentary Internet and wake up to a complimentary continental breakfast at our daily buffet. Located halfway between both Brussels and Antwerp, Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is an ideal stopoff point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre Hotel Mechelen
Mechelen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Mechelen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing