We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, Average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Location, Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Nothing really special about the hotel, it was clean, staff were friendly but it's what you would expect from this type of hotel, paid 120 euro for the night and could have got a nicer hotel at this rate locally.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to inform us about your findings from our hotel. It is nice te read that you found the hotel clean and the staff friendly. Hope to welcome you again next time you travel to Antwerp.
KInd regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    123
    53
    14
    10
See reviews for
36
61
22
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stop there to see Brussels. The car park is a little bit expensive but overall I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your findings from our hotel.
It is great to read that you would recommend our hotel to others and that you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to welcome you again the next time you pass by in Mechelen.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed here for business, however the stay was less pleasant than I had hoped for.
First of all I was NOT recognized as a Priority Club member. Secondly the receptionist tried to downgrade me 2 levels from double room with sofa to single room! When I asked why did you give me this room the reply was: we don't have any more double rooms with sofa. This obviously enraged me and by the touch of magic suddenly it was possible to have the room I paid for... why this was necessary I do not understand.

There was indeed WiFi internet, but it was so slow that only browing webpages was possible. Remote connections to the office was unbearably slow. I tried with a cable in my room but the result was the same.

The breakfast was very basic but acceptable. I can highly recommend the chinese restaurant very close by.

Room Tip: Upon ordering my room the price was exactly the same for a single, double or double with sofa room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haslund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to inform us about you findings of our hotel.
I wouldl ike to apologize for thess invonveniences. I will surely talk to the staff member respnsible for the checkin and ask why you were not recognised as a loyal PC member because this is unacceptable. Concerning the rooms, just to clarify, Holiday Inn Express only has standard rooms, 1 type with double bed and sofa bed and 1 type with 2 single beds. So I think there has been a misunderstanding regarding the downgrading to a single room that is 2 levels lower.
Again my apologies for the inconveniences.
We hope this will not withhold you from coming back to us the next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes. General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mad
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

good price, very well located and the receptionist were kind and helpful.Simple but very clean.NIce breakfast

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erizosmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Is it nice to read that you had a nice stay and would come back to us. We will be ready to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

its a Holiday Inn Express, don't expect five star luxury.
Its central, breakfast and internet access is included, so its a good choice for a short business trip.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimJ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments about your stay.
I woud like to thank you for this and for recommending our hotel as a good hotel for a business trip. I hope to welcome you again the next time you travel to Mechelen. Kind regards,
Joris Keimes,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel almost weekly from March 2010 to October 2010, and then a few times in 2011 for my job. Last stay was August 2011.

Location: The hotel is centrally located in Mechelen, and is a short 2-3 min walk from the main square if you take the route that runs behind the hotel. Mechelen regularly has festivals/concerts/fairs at the main square on weekends, and the hotel is in the envious location of being extremely close but still shielded away from the noise (residential area and some offices split the hotel away from the square).
One thing to note: most of Mechelen has cobbled streets, including the street outside the hotel. This means ladies should refrain from high heel shoes, and any car/bus passing outside the front will make a LOT of noise. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the front street.

NOTE: Mechelen is a very quiet town, you will not find as many bars/restaurants as somewhere like Brussels. Nearly all bars/restaurants are family run establishments, and each has a random weekday evening they will be shut. Sometimes, if a restaurant does not have many customers by 8pm they will shut early. Not good for any people who are prone to having dinner late. For later dining, the main places include restaurants at the Fish Market (up to 10 min walk), a Greek restaurant on other side of main square and the kebab place round the corner from hotel.

Room/amenities: The standard amenities from a Holiday Inn Express. The room comes with Shower trays (no baths in any room), soap in dispenser at sink and shower, tea making facilities in room and TV/wired internet. Only wired internet is free in the rooms, you have to pay for wireless in rooms. The wifi at reception/breakfast area is free. The rooms I stayed in were always maintained to a clean standard.

NOTE: Some rooms do not have very good water pressure for the shower. Also, the TV/wired internet is one of those systems which runs out of one box, and does not always work correctly. Not all of the channels worked sometimes.

Service: The breakfast is complimentary, and consists of basic continental (cereal, yogurt, fruit, ham/meats, boiled eggs, juice/milk/tea/coffee). The reception staff were very accommodating and they always recognized me as a priority club member (fast check-in, and a free drink voucher). They were quick to fix any problem.

Room Tip: "Family"/double rooms which are the first ones on the right hand side after entering each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KullyRai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your findings during your stays in our hotel, and also I would like to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and to intercontinental hotels group as a priority club member.
I am pleased to inform you that we do have wireless internet access now in all our rooms and that this it is free of charge.
Also I will certainly share your comments with my staff and thank them for always being friendly and helpfull in any way to our guests!
Hope to welcome you back next time you travel to Mechelen, Kind Regards,
Joris Keimes,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
132 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

A good choice for a weekend, when they drop their prices.Friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast. Only minus: the double beds are a bit small

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will certainly share your comments with our staff. Hope to welcome you again next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechelen hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
#2 of 11 in Mechelen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martin's Patershof
Martin's Patershof
#1 of 11 in Mechelen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#4 of 11 in Mechelen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Mechelen Ve
Mercure Mechelen Ve
#3 of 11 in Mechelen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Gulden Anker
0.2 mi away
VixX Hotel
VixX Hotel
#5 of 11 in Mechelen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
Address: Veemarkt 37 C, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the atmosphere of Mechelen's historic quarter at the Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre hotel. Flanked by centuries-old architecture, the inviting Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is in the heart of Mechelen. Just a short walk from the town square and with easy access to the ring road, you can park in our secure underground car park when you arrive. Connect to complimentary Internet and wake up to a complimentary continental breakfast at our daily buffet. Located halfway between both Brussels and Antwerp, Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is an ideal stopoff point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre Hotel Mechelen
Mechelen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Mechelen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing