We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Htl Gulden Anker
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
Reviewed June 7, 2008

Having stayed at the Gulden Anker for 4 nights found the hotel very good indeed handy for the center of Mechelen rooms excellent, food very good friendly staff, the lift is quite small and no disabled rooms but that can be overcome as you can get access via the restaurant and a nice location on the banks of the canel

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hazzop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 102 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2008

Stayed here one night and wished we stayed longer! Good size room, but tiny bathroom (reminded me of a bathroom on a cruise ship). Our room was nice and clean, with decent toiletries and adequate water pressure in the shower. The elevator wasn't working the day we checked in, so we lugged our luggage up a few floors (the hotel staff offered to help, but we didn't take them up on it). Great location within walking distance to the main sights in the town. Parking lot was very small and street parking may be difficult to find. Not a lot of restaurants in the area. Very good breakfast in their restaurant was included.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scal_patty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

We visited Best Western Hotel Gulden Anker, a 4**** hotel, situated between Antwerp and Brussels from November 22nd. – 24th. 2007. It is at the edge of the city centre at about 300 mtrs. from the “Gote Markt” with its cathedral. Mechelen is a nice, old, little city, which character has been partly destroyed by running up several modern buildings. Originally the Gulden Anker was only a restaurant, now it is a hotel too with 34 rooms. Apart from the cosy restaurant there is a cosy bar and there is a sauna and terrace too. In front of the hotel there are some free parking places for hotel guests.
We had room 56, a room at the back side, with a rather small double bed with good mattresses but rather soft pillows. The eiderdown or duvet made it rather warm at night. It was not one of their large rooms, but it was acceptable. The room has, among other things, a bath/shower (with all the necessary amenities), WC, hairdryer, color-TV, coffee-tea facilities, telephone, mini-bar, airconditioning, a working table and a large linen-cupboard. The TV, with about 28 channels in Dutch, English, German and French, is the best we ever had in a hotel. Although the room was near the elevator it hardly bothered us, because between our sleeping room and the elevator was the bathroom. It is all very clean.
Breakfast is really very, very good with fresh cruds, buttermilk, meat products, hot sauces and egg and you even can press oranges by yourself. Both nights we had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent, although a little bit expensive. The wine list shows a large variety of wine. From the house wine the white wine is bad, but the red wine is acceptable (€11,00 for ½ l.).
Staff looks competitive in being as kind as possible and is very helpful, and can arrange five different cycling-tours.
All in all, the hotel is very recommendable at a rate of €174,00 for two nights. Have at least dinner there.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jwmpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2006

Mechelen is one off the famous and very beautiful five towns of Belgian Flanders the others being Leuven, Bruges, Antwerp and Ghent, the Gulden Anker hotel sits on the ring road, just away from the town centre.

It is well furnished and the reception area is welcoming, there is a sauna, which has to booked individually, which is not a problem, but would be a problem if more than one family or person wanted to use it at the same time, however, and a gym which is not a gym, its a stationary bike and some contraption, with weights attatched.

The bar is good, clean and well managed, nothing wrong here!

The restaurant also is good, clean and with very acceptable food.

Rooms are about right for hotels in this class and have a mini bar.

For what I paid, i am not complaining, in fact i am about to stay there again next week.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2003

Very nice hotel, clean rooms and bad, very good breakfast, and exellent dinner. Whe like it.

1  Thank Wim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank cyrillec46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mariaineslopespiresg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechelen hotels
0.4 mi away
Martin's Patershof
Martin's Patershof
#1 of 11 in Mechelen
1,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Mechelen Ve
Mercure Mechelen Ve
#3 of 11 in Mechelen
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#4 of 11 in Mechelen
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
0.4 mi away
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
#2 of 11 in Mechelen
587 reviews
0.7 mi away
VixX Hotel
VixX Hotel
#5 of 11 in Mechelen
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Htl Gulden Anker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Htl Gulden Anker

Address: Ridder Dessainlaan 2, Mechelen 2800, Belgium (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Gulden Anker)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range: $97 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Htl Gulden Anker 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2015 our hotel has a new owner and new elan :) First renovations of hall, bar, fitness and some rooms are done! We wish you welcome in one of our 34, all different, rooms of our hotel. Share us your room preferences and we'll try to adjust reservations as such. We are located in a quiet residential neighborhood, alongside the canal. At the end of our street we can find the lovely Vrijbroekpark. The city center is at walking distance, as is the train station Mechelen. Exit N° 10 of the E19 highway between Antwerp and Brussels is nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Htl Gulden Anker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mechelen
Mechelen Best Western
Best Western Gulden Anker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing