We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy as 4* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Htl Gulden Anker
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
Reviewed July 11, 2012

First impression was not so good since in my room was a lot of dust and when I asked cleaning lady to clean it she used really awful and stinky thing to remove it. Second day I found strange blue traces on my blanket as my colleague in other room in the same hotel. Pizza which I bought outside disappeared the other day, but I must say that after my question where is it the hotel buy me new pizza. One evening the electricity was off. The only thing which I found really nice was the breakfast and the lady who took care of it. The hotel is on a rush crossroad = some rooms are quite noisy.

Room Tip: Part of the hotel where the lobby, bar and reception are is nicer and if you ask for a room on the o...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrykn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Htl Gulden Anker, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your comment.

I'm really surprised that your room was as dusted as you explained since Best Western is really severe concerning the cleaning rules of a room.

Nevertheless, I'm not going to discuss about the conditions of the rooms, so I'll forward this comment to the cleaning staff

As to the blanquets: this was something which happened at the laundry service. We've seen this also in some other rooms and confronted our laundry service with this fact. It seemed that something went wrong over there, with the result known

As to the rooms: I agree that the rooms at the opposite of the street are more calm.

If something goes wrong, everything goes wrong; therefore I would like offe rmy sincere apologies for any inconviences!

Kind regards,

Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Htl Gulden Anker
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 96 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Gulden Anker is a superb place to stay. - see the ratings below. Excellent food (breakfast and dinner), very efficient, friendly staff in all areas and good rooms. An excellent location for visiting Mechelen itself, Antwerp, Brussels and other northern parts of Belgium.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

very well located hotel, nearby city centre and railwaystation. Large, beautiful bedrooms with all necessary accomodation. Bathroom maybe to small in comparison to the large bedroom.

Hallway and elevator are indeed narrow, but i prefer a large bedroom than a larger hallway.

Enjoyed the excellent buffet breakfast that is served in the restaurant. All the staff is very friendly and helpfull
We will definetely return to this hotel on our next stay in Mechelen

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xavier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel currently has major construction right out the front door however it did not affect our sleep. The hotel was clean and neat but had some narrow hallways and a very small elevator. The rooms were nice but the bathrooms were not spacious. The dining area for breakfast was comfortable and they had a nice selection of food items. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the train station and city center. We found Mechelen to be friendly, even at midnight while looking for a late dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixystyx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

The hotel was not bad.
But that is all there is to write home about.
The Elevator was scary.
A room facing the street is not quiet.
I did not sleep well in this hotel.
BUT, the staff were very helpful.
It is an old hotel and quite clean. The walk to the city center is about 10 minutes, thus centrally located.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizabetNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

The hotel is situated alongside the canal in Mechelen, in easy walking distance to the the town centre.

Rooms are well-appointed and clean with en-suite and tea/coffee making, flat panel tv with English stations, phone and good internet access via wireless Swisscom (requires payment).

The restaurant offers a very good range of quality freshly-cooked food and prices reflect the quality, both of the food and the service, which is good. A set menu is also offered at around €25 (as at January 09).

There is a good bar that serves a variety of beverages. Staff are very helpful and polite and the hotel is overall good value.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TheUKwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

I've been meaning to write about this hotel for a while. I stay in Mechelen often for business and of the "decent" hotels the Gulden Anker is my last choice.

The good stuff - reception is fine, the restaurant is EXCELLENT with beautifully prepared and presented food at very reasonable cost. Breakfast is OK, nothing special. Rooms are a decent size, well equipped and have internet access (pay).

The bad - The big problem with the hotel is the all pervading and strong smell of cigarette smoke - it is everywhere in the building (except, interestingly, the restaurant). Even in the non-smoking rooms, so strong is the smell that it seeps in to the room - yeuch!!! Maybe it is something to do with the design that the stairwell acts like a chimney disributing the smoke from the public areas through the building, maybe it is because the bearded guy at reception is a heavy smoker. I'm not sure, but if you don't like cigarette smoke don't stay here unless you have to (Mechelen hotel rooms are often at a premium and booking way in advance of your trip is a good tip).

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Blocker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechelen hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#4 of 11 in Mechelen
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
#3 of 11 in Mechelen
572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Mechelen Ve
Mercure Mechelen Ve
#2 of 11 in Mechelen
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Martin's Patershof
Martin's Patershof
#1 of 11 in Mechelen
1,024 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
1.6 mi away
Hotel Hobbit
Hotel Hobbit
#8 of 11 in Mechelen
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Htl Gulden Anker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Htl Gulden Anker

Address: Ridder Dessainlaan 2, Mechelen 2800, Belgium (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Gulden Anker)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range: $92 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Htl Gulden Anker 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2015 our hotel has a new owner and new elan :) First renovations of hall, bar, fitness and some rooms are done! We wish you welcome in one of our 34, all different, rooms of our hotel. Share us your room preferences and we'll try to adjust reservations as such. We are located in a quiet residential neighborhood, alongside the canal. At the end of our street we can find the lovely Vrijbroekpark. The city center is at walking distance, as is the train station Mechelen. Exit N° 10 of the E19 highway between Antwerp and Brussels is nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Htl Gulden Anker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mechelen
Mechelen Best Western
Best Western Gulden Anker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing