We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Potential, but sheets not clean”
Review of De Groene Maan

De Groene Maan
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Groene Maan
Ranked #19 of 21 Mechelen B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Excellent location, very friendly owner, nicely decorated rooms, lovely breakfast incl fresh juice

Would give 3 tot 4 points looking at value for money, if the sheets did have stains..

Already noticed when getting in bed a not so fresh smell, which i noticed a few times dyring the night ( woke up quite a lot as blankets were too thick and no sheet availale). My boyfriend was in doubt " maybe they came out of the closet?", however they smelled used to me... In de morning we noticed that the cover sheet and cover pilowws had stains as well so that did not feel too great

Pitty! All the rest was great looking at the price
However, some things to also consider:

- if you are not a good sleeper and plan to sleep till after 7, you might want to reconsider. Wood floors were lovely but made a lot of noise, housekeeping started early in the other rooms which you could clearly hear, kids were crying at 7, it has its charm, but you should know beforehand
- no shower, however lovely free standing bath tube!
- no hairdryer in room 1 although mentioned on the site
- no keys for the door, ok for us, but housekeeping stepped in by accident around 8.30 while we were cuddling in bed :-)
- limited shampoo

A little extra effort and clean sheets would have resulted in a 4 definately

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Travel11114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 25 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

Just came back from a weekend in Mechelen. We stayed at De Groene Maan, in the biggest of the rooms they have, no. 2, which is actually 2 rooms and a bathroom. The location is perfect: a walking distance from everything we wanted to see and do in Mechelen. The owners Klaas and Marijke are very friendly. The rooms were nicely decorated, especially the bathroom, and the bed was very comfortable. We had a tasty biological breakfast the next morning. Definitely a good address to stay when in Mechelen.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Astrid79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank kristien23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Daivy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
318klaasv, Eigenaar at De Groene Maan, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tisteender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
318klaasv, Eigenaar at De Groene Maan, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wij hebben op de bovenste verdieping overnacht, en ik moet zeggen, echt super rustige nacht.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechelen hotels
0.5 mi away
Martin's Patershof
Martin's Patershof
#1 of 11 in Mechelen
1,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
#2 of 11 in Mechelen
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#5 of 11 in Mechelen
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Htl Gulden Anker
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hobbit
Hotel Hobbit
#8 of 11 in Mechelen
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Groene Maan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Groene Maan

Address: Rik Woutersstraat 19, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mechelen
Price Range: $119 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your De Groene Maan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing