We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, room a lilttle dissapointing”
Review of Martin's Patershof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Martin's Patershof
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Hi,

Stayed in a room with church windows within the church. The whole place looks great but I found the room rather small and less stylish than I hoped it would be.
Furniture just a little off and not much space to hand up clothing.
Bathroom is bright and clean though and it is nice to have a separate toilet (not withing the bathroom).

Location is great, just 2 min walk from a great cozy square with restaurants.
The city is nice to for a day or two, food is of high standard in Mechelen, so is the service.

I phoned the hotel asking about parking and they said they have a garage, great, shame they 'forgot' to mention you have to pay for it ( €22.- per night!).

Breakfast is okay but quality / price is a little off. Tea and coffee out or themos cans, not being brought to your table. 'Orange juice' out of very small glases too.
You will not go hungry but I just expected a little more service/ quality.
In the summer I would recomend booking without breakfas and sitting on a terras on teh large square to have breakfast, probbably cheaper, better and with a view and accualy people serving your table.

If the decor was not so spectacular the reviews would be less positive I find.
It is little things like asking € 3.50 when you make coffee in your room with the cofee maker whilst on the large square in the center you get a great cup with complimetery chocolates or cookies at any of the restaurants for € 2.50.

Bar, lobby, halls all looks really great so it is a nice place for a romantic weekend or a quick stay but dont ecpext too much of the rooms, breakfast and service and you will be fine.
Overall a good place, probbaly the best or one of the better in teh city but they know it and can afford to lack on service or be a little expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmyAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed just for one night in this spectacular hotel.The location is very good,a couple of minutes walk to the center.We had a room in the church with magnificent windows.
The breakfast is an adventure!Beautiful room and a delicious buffet.

The bathroom could need a bit more light and the parking lot only has about 10 places.But there is a chance to park your car nearby in a public parking lot(and cheaper than the hotel).Strange thing: there is a coffee machine in the room but you have to pay for it.

The reception staff is friendly and very helpfull.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boneyardbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We were reavelling through Belgium, and although tempted to stay in Leuven (itself a marvellous city). Having never heard of Mechelen and intrigued by the Lonely Planet review, we found that the Martin Group had just opened a new church conversion in Mechelen.
We were certainly not disappointed, and the hotel is a really great conversion. Staff were really good and entheusiastic. The room was well equipped, very comfortable and certainly exceeded expectations when we think of previous church convertions. Breakfast was excellent, but staff a bit thin on the ground and it might not be everyones idea of fun to be eating in front of the alter!
As to Mechelen, it certainly exceeded all expectations, and is a really wonderful grand old city which is well worth a detour.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank cesaremac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank IbenDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frans T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 5ème étage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zinda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechelen hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Mechelen Ve
Mercure Mechelen Ve
#3 of 11 in Mechelen
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
VixX Hotel
VixX Hotel
#5 of 11 in Mechelen
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#4 of 11 in Mechelen
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
#2 of 11 in Mechelen
587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
0.4 mi away
Best Western Htl Gulden Anker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Patershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Patershof

Address: Karmelietenstraat 4, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mechelen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mechelen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mechelen
#2 Business Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range: $107 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Martin's Patershof 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Patershof hotel in the heart of historical Mechelen offers unique accommodation in a former church. Brussels and Antwerp are 30 minutes by train from Mechelen Station, 1 km away.Combining original features with modern design, the stylish rooms provide a minibar and private bathroom.Every morning, Martins Patershof offers a healthy buffet breakfast with a glass of cava in the impressive choir of the old church building. Martin's Bar offers a wide range of Belgian beers, cocktails and whiskeys and free tapas at the end of the afternoon.Thanks to the 24-hour desk, you can explore the city and its wider area in your own time and come and go as you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martin's Patershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Patershof Hotel Mechelen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing