We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martin's Patershof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Martin's Patershof
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here as part of a cycling trip around Flanders. The hotel is a nicely renovated church, complete with views of stained glass windows from our room. We were upgraded to a very nice room on the top floor, with views of the city. Care had to be taken moving around the room as some of the stone roofing pillars formed part of the room - not a problem but something to be aware of and an interesting feature. Bathroom was a decent size.

We booked this hotel using an agent for a decent price, not sure we'd have stayed here at full price, which is possibly why the breakfasts seemed so expensive (20 euros for breakfast - no thanks!).

The lighting in the hotel was a bit "atmospheric", ie a bit dark, but I understand they are going to change this in the near future, so shouldn't be a problem.

Very nice hotel, well located with helpful staff. We 'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve345uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Steve345uk,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with our future guests through TripAdvisor.
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Flanders = Cycling
Discover our new cycling packages through our own website!

In-between, the lightning in all public area's (corridors, toilets, lobby, bar, ...) has been changed.
During a "relamping day" in July, we changed about 540 light bulbs, good for an investment of about 12.000 euro. Everything has been changed into LED, so very good for our planet! This is not only to improve our guest satisfaction, but fits also in our sustainability program "Tomorrow Needs Today". In August, we will start to improve the lightning in some rooms on the 2nd, 3th en 5th floor.

Hope to may welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    328
    96
    26
    10
See reviews for
86
584
14
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We have chosen this hotel for a romantic get away. On arrival the room was not ready yet but ready within the promised time. The frontdesk was very friendly. Our luggage could be stored in the luggage/ storage room.
Prior to the visit we requested a room with chuch elements and we got one on the fifth floor. The room itself was very clean.

The breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choices.

The only cons are the high price of the parkinglot if available and though a bit strange that it cannot be booked at all. But if you contact the hotel they will provide you good suggestions. On sundays it is free parking in the neighbourhood until monday 9am. Further too bad this hotel has no dinner options. In case of bad weather it would be nice if you can dine at the hotel. If you don't make use of other arrangements the breakfast is actually high also. Concerning the bathroom, it is a bit odd to shower in bath, not very contemporary. But in overall a stunning hotel with very friendly staff.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mrs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Mrs L,

Thank you very much for your message through TripAdvisor.
Martin's Patershof is the right place to book a romantic getaway.
Check our website during Valentine, we have a nice package including diner for 2.

We have an underground parking lot for about 20 cars, upon availability
Unfortunately, the places cannot be booked in advance. If our parking lot should be full, we can recommend you a lot of options in the neighbourhood.

As there are a lot of restaurants in the beautiful city of Mechelen, we took the decision not to offer an à la carte restaurant in the hotel. But if you really don't want to leave our beautiful hotel, you can order room service in our Martin's Bar.

Thank you for your stay with us and we hope we may welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We spent two nights in this beautiful hotel and what you see on the website is what you get. The lady on reception was helpful and gave us a map of the town. We could not fault the breakfast there was hot food and cold meats, every pastry you could think of and lots of different rolls. There were even bottles of Cava in the chiller so you could have a glass of sparkling with your breakfast! The bed was so soft and comfortable and the duvets were equally as soft so it was very hard to wake yourself up in the morning. I read the comments on this hotel before we went and there was one about nothing to do, what alot of rubbish just ask reception and they will give you a map and tell you about the museum and churches and just while away your evening sitting in one of the man restaurants eating, drinking and watching the world go by, even just talking to the local people was fun. You can even hire bikes from the hotel. We watched Belgium play in the world cup with all the locals on the big screen there was no stress or trouble just families and friends enjoying there time (even though it was raining). Just one thing I would say is go to the shop and buy your water as the minibar water is very overpriced.

Well done Martin's Patershof you have done a fantastic job converting the church and we look forward to returning as soon as we can! We have already recommonded you to a lady on the train home.

Room Tip: Ask for one on level 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Yvonne D,

Thank you very much for your message through TripAdvisor.
Is through, Mechelen is a hidden gem between Antwerp & Brussels.
There are a lot of things to do in the city. Just ask at reception. My staff loves to tell you more about our city.

Have you already discovered the city of Leuven? It's about 25km from Mechelen and Brussels.
Book Martin's Klooster, you will not be disappointed!

Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleroi, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Excellent hotel, very original and interesting, wonderful rooms, clean and quiet, easy to access, very good personnel, welcoming and warm. Rooms have all the facilities, air-conditionned, TV, Internet, very comfortable beds. They are very clean and cosy, quiet and very original.

For us, it was a wonderful trip, with lots of good souvenirs!
Congratulations to the team!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are very good, but I think there are room with more light than ours, which was situated on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GABRIELA1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Gabriela1959,

Thank you very much for your lovely words.
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Don't hesitate to visit our own website to discover our 9 other Martin's Hotels.
If you would like to discover Brugge, you can book a room in Martin's Relais or Martin's Brugge.

Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed on a Sunday night and were fortunate to be upgraded to a room with a stained glass window on the fifth floor. The hotel was quiet and we were easily able to park in a nearby street free until 9 am on the Monday morning. The room although small was unique and perfect for our needs. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location close to the centre. We did not use the restaurant. mechelen was lovely and we hope to return in September and will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeE372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear MikeE372,

Thank you very much for your message through TripAdvisor.
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and the city of Mechelen.

I think Mechelen is a hidden gem between Brussels & Antwerp.
If you would like to visit more in Belgium, have a look on our own website.
We have 10 hotels all over Belgium.

See you in September!
Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
339 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Difficult to find even with NAV-GPS. Located on narrow 2 way street. Tiny garage spaces down a steep, narrow ramp for EURO 25 a night! Took 10 minutes to navigate small car into a parking spot. No elevator to hotel - luggage was a problem. Reception sort of cold & my first contact had trouble w/ English. Business meeting in progress--place was a madhouse. My room (515) was smallish & poorly lit. Bad lighting in bathroom & no magnifying mirror. TV didn't work--missed the last few minutes of the 1st World cup game. Poor lighting in the room & fake stained glass. Skipped the 20 Euro breakfast. Will never stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmurrayolympic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear jmurrayolympic,

Thank you very much for your message through TripAdvisor.
I notice that your experience in our hotel was below your expectations. I would like to apologize for that.

Thanks to your feedback, we are able to improve our guest services.

Our hotel (read church) was built in 1867.
If we had not made the transformation from church to hotel, there wouldn't be a church anymore. We gave the magnificent building a new life. So unfortunately, I cannot agree with "better off as a church".

As there were no cars yet in 1867, people "forgot" building an underground car park under the church for the modern times. Horses and carriages where kept outside.
However, we are happy to be able to offer the service of an underground car park, just next door under the new part of the Patershof site. There are 20 places upon availability at 25 euro a night.
Even if the ramp is a bit narrow, this should not be a problem for any gentleman who can drive a car. If it should be, don't hesitate to ask us to help you. Our 50 neighbors and I do this every day 2 times.

I agree with your comment about the lightning in the room. Last week, we ordered 540 new LED bulbs which is an investment of about 12.000 euro. This will not only improve the lightning into the room, but will be very good for our environment as well. This is very important to us, as we are one of the most ecologic hotels. We obtained the EMAS certification, the ISO14001 and we are a Green Key hotel.

We hope we may welcome you another time in the future.
If you would consider, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours Sincerely,
Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
180 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights recently while visiting Mechelen on business. I hadn't booked the hotel myself so wasn't sure what to expect but I was very pleasantly surprised.

I didn't spend a lot of time either in the hotel or exploring the area but I found the hotel to be really good as a building, all the public areas were modern and clean and the architecture is something in itself.

In terms of my room - a good, business hotel room with plenty of space, good facilities, good bathroom and very modern, clean and, again, had some of the original building exposed which makes it a lot more interesting.

Sleep quality was good and the breakfast buffet was also good the following morning as were all the staff that I met - friendly and helpful.

Based on what I saw on my brief stay, I'd be more than happy to stay here again and would recommend it to someone staying in the area.

My only comment to the hotel would be that they could maybe add a way to make a cup of tea in the rooms alongside coffee but that's a very English request :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Mike T,

Thank you very much for your lovely words and thank you for your constructive remark about the coffee (& tea) facilitys in the room. I will keep this in mind for the future.

I hope, we may welcome you again with us soon!
Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechelen
0.1 mi away
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
#2 of 11 in Mechelen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Mechelen Ve
Mercure Mechelen Ve
#3 of 11 in Mechelen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
VixX Hotel
VixX Hotel
#5 of 11 in Mechelen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
0.1 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#4 of 11 in Mechelen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Patershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Patershof

Property: Martin's Patershof
Address: Karmelietenstraat 4, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mechelen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mechelen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mechelen
#2 Business Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Martin's Patershof 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Patershof hotel in the heart of historical Mechelen offers unique accommodation in a former church. Brussels and Antwerp are 30 minutes by train from Mechelen Station, 1 km away.Combining original features with modern design, the stylish rooms provide a minibar and private bathroom.Every morning, Martins Patershof offers a healthy buffet breakfast with a glass of cava in the impressive choir of the old church building. Martin's Bar offers a wide range of Belgian beers, cocktails and whiskeys and free tapas at the end of the afternoon.Thanks to the 24-hour desk, you can explore the city and its wider area in your own time and come and go as you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Martin's Patershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Patershof Hotel Mechelen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing