We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
NH Mechelen(Mechelen)(Great Value!)
$84
$82
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Mechelen Ve(Mechelen)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$110
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Mechelen Centrum(Mechelen)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

VixX Hotel(Mechelen)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dusk Till Dawn(Mechelen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,117)
Filter reviews
1,117 results
Traveler rating
562
381
120
38
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
381
120
38
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold churchstained glassconverted churchunique hotelper nighta special placebeautiful roommain buildingarchitectural elementshotel builtlots of characterbreakfast roommodern facilitiesbusiness meetingcomfortable bedparking garagean upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 1,117 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have chosen this hotel for a romantic get away. On arrival the room was not ready yet but ready within the promised time. The frontdesk was very friendly. Our luggage could be stored in the luggage/ storage room.
Prior to the visit we requested a room with chuch elements and we got one on the fifth floor. The room itself was very clean.

The breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choices.

The only cons are the high price of the parkinglot if available and though a bit strange that it cannot be booked at all. But if you contact the hotel they will provide you good suggestions. On sundays it is free parking in the neighbourhood until monday 9am. Further too bad this hotel has no dinner options. In case of bad weather it would be nice if you can dine at the hotel. If you don't make use of other arrangements the breakfast is actually high also. Concerning the bathroom, it is a bit odd to shower in bath, not very contemporary. But in overall a stunning hotel with very friendly staff.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mrs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Mrs L,

Thank you very much for your message through TripAdvisor.
Martin's Patershof is the right place to book a romantic getaway.
Check our website during Valentine, we have a nice package including diner for 2.

We have an underground parking lot for about 20 cars, upon availability
Unfortunately, the places cannot be booked in advance. If our parking lot should be full, we can recommend you a lot of options in the neighbourhood.

As there are a lot of restaurants in the beautiful city of Mechelen, we took the decision not to offer an à la carte restaurant in the hotel. But if you really don't want to leave our beautiful hotel, you can order room service in our Martin's Bar.

Thank you for your stay with us and we hope we may welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We spent two nights in this beautiful hotel and what you see on the website is what you get. The lady on reception was helpful and gave us a map of the town. We could not fault the breakfast there was hot food and cold meats, every pastry you could think of and lots of different rolls. There were even bottles of Cava in the chiller so you could have a glass of sparkling with your breakfast! The bed was so soft and comfortable and the duvets were equally as soft so it was very hard to wake yourself up in the morning. I read the comments on this hotel before we went and there was one about nothing to do, what alot of rubbish just ask reception and they will give you a map and tell you about the museum and churches and just while away your evening sitting in one of the man restaurants eating, drinking and watching the world go by, even just talking to the local people was fun. You can even hire bikes from the hotel. We watched Belgium play in the world cup with all the locals on the big screen there was no stress or trouble just families and friends enjoying there time (even though it was raining). Just one thing I would say is go to the shop and buy your water as the minibar water is very overpriced.

Well done Martin's Patershof you have done a fantastic job converting the church and we look forward to returning as soon as we can! We have already recommonded you to a lady on the train home.

Room Tip: Ask for one on level 5
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Yvonne D,

Thank you very much for your message through TripAdvisor.
Is through, Mechelen is a hidden gem between Antwerp & Brussels.
There are a lot of things to do in the city. Just ask at reception. My staff loves to tell you more about our city.

Have you already discovered the city of Leuven? It's about 25km from Mechelen and Brussels.
Book Martin's Klooster, you will not be disappointed!

Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Excellent hotel, very original and interesting, wonderful rooms, clean and quiet, easy to access, very good personnel, welcoming and warm. Rooms have all the facilities, air-conditionned, TV, Internet, very comfortable beds. They are very clean and cosy, quiet and very original.

For us, it was a wonderful trip, with lots of good souvenirs!
Congratulations to the team!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are very good, but I think there are room with more light than ours, which was situated on the first floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GABRIELA1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Gabriela1959,

Thank you very much for your lovely words.
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Don't hesitate to visit our own website to discover our 9 other Martin's Hotels.
If you would like to discover Brugge, you can book a room in Martin's Relais or Martin's Brugge.

Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed on a Sunday night and were fortunate to be upgraded to a room with a stained glass window on the fifth floor. The hotel was quiet and we were easily able to park in a nearby street free until 9 am on the Monday morning. The room although small was unique and perfect for our needs. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location close to the centre. We did not use the restaurant. mechelen was lovely and we hope to return in September and will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeE372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear MikeE372,

Thank you very much for your message through TripAdvisor.
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and the city of Mechelen.

I think Mechelen is a hidden gem between Brussels & Antwerp.
If you would like to visit more in Belgium, have a look on our own website.
We have 10 hotels all over Belgium.

See you in September!
Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Difficult to find even with NAV-GPS. Located on narrow 2 way street. Tiny garage spaces down a steep, narrow ramp for EURO 25 a night! Took 10 minutes to navigate small car into a parking spot. No elevator to hotel - luggage was a problem. Reception sort of cold & my first contact had trouble w/ English. Business meeting in progress--place was a madhouse. My room (515) was smallish & poorly lit. Bad lighting in bathroom & no magnifying mirror. TV didn't work--missed the last few minutes of the 1st World cup game. Poor lighting in the room & fake stained glass. Skipped the 20 Euro breakfast. Will never stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmurrayolympic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear jmurrayolympic,

Thank you very much for your message through TripAdvisor.
I notice that your experience in our hotel was below your expectations. I would like to apologize for that.

Thanks to your feedback, we are able to improve our guest services.

Our hotel (read church) was built in 1867.
If we had not made the transformation from church to hotel, there wouldn't be a church anymore. We gave the magnificent building a new life. So unfortunately, I cannot agree with "better off as a church".

As there were no cars yet in 1867, people "forgot" building an underground car park under the church for the modern times. Horses and carriages where kept outside.
However, we are happy to be able to offer the service of an underground car park, just next door under the new part of the Patershof site. There are 20 places upon availability at 25 euro a night.
Even if the ramp is a bit narrow, this should not be a problem for any gentleman who can drive a car. If it should be, don't hesitate to ask us to help you. Our 50 neighbors and I do this every day 2 times.

I agree with your comment about the lightning in the room. Last week, we ordered 540 new LED bulbs which is an investment of about 12.000 euro. This will not only improve the lightning into the room, but will be very good for our environment as well. This is very important to us, as we are one of the most ecologic hotels. We obtained the EMAS certification, the ISO14001 and we are a Green Key hotel.

We hope we may welcome you another time in the future.
If you would consider, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours Sincerely,
Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews