We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Room Experience”
Review of Martin's Patershof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Martin's Patershof
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is a former church, making this my most unique hotel experience. Windows are the original stained glass and the walls are the church walls, arches and all. We reserved the "great room" but were upgraded to the "best of home" room, which was a nice perk. The furniture and decor of the room was modern with a romantic edge. Bathroom, linens, etc. were clean. Breakfast was just okay, but did include hot and cold items. Staff were polite. Note: The entry level rooms do not feature the stained glass, but it is well worth the money to book a room that does.

Room Tip: Choose a room with stained glass
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Looking for a little gem? Martin's hotel and the city of Mechelen are offering both. The unique setting of the hotel in a church, the friendly and warm welcome by the staff, the enchanting rooms with all the necessary aminities, the comfy beds, and the nice bar with a range of tapas served with your drinks, make this a perfect location for the weekend or a short city trip. The buffet breakfast is of high standard, although freshly squized orange juice and a cappuchino would have lifted to a top rating. Parking space is limited and expensive, but the hotel is in walking distance from the old city center. Try the Lamot Grand Cafe brasserie. The food and setting in an old brewery makes this worthwile.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

recently had the chance to spend a night at this lovely old church. hotel itself is very modern and staff are very helpful. lobby and the entrance area is very modern with simplistic design, however as you go up to your room, then the film begins. very nice medieval interior, especially stain glass windows in the room and the ceiling made our stay a unique experience. definitely recommended.

Room Tip: go top floor on the original side of the building,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brotherjacklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for a conference in October 2012. This converted Church to Hotel is really interesting and would be great to spend a weekend at. I was there for a week however and when there that long you can feel that it is lacking some amenities (pool/spa/exercise room).

Staff was very helpful and location is very good. 5 minute walk to the city center.

Bar closed way to early.

Breakfast was good. No restaurant was open for dinner while I was there.

Rooms are decent size and very unique. The windows are amazing in some of the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyMac15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

First of all, the setting of the hotel in an old church is lovely. The leadpaint glass windows give the room a lovely look. Downside for me is that is makes the room quite dark, and it's hard to see daylight.

Bathroom was well equipped, with a great bubble bath. However, I feel the styling doesn't match the rest of the hotel. Plain white tiles, bit of a shoddy ceiling, just doesn't fit the rest.

The room was a bit too warm for me, and the airconditioning had me freezing in the bed. Guess it is hard to control the temperature in the room.

Getting the hotel was a bit of a pain, because of many small one-way streets. Ended up parking in the Lamot parking garage, which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel and a bit cheaper too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasper V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed one night on a business trip. I had a room in the older section. While the room was well appointed and was plenty big enough, it was kind of weird. It had a stained glass window and did feel like an old church. It was also a dark room. Even with all the lights on, it was a little dark for me.
Staff was great, the location seemed good. It appeared you could walk to most restaurants and shops. Breakfast was good, but not until 7. I would stay there again, but might ask for a "newer"
room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel is a once in a lifetime experience, set in an 19th century church. We stayed at the 4th floor directly below a stain glass window with an angel looking down on us - great experience!
The room was quite small - cramped somehow with little room for our luggage but everything was very quiet and relaxing. Apart from this the hotel was very disappointing. Although the price of the room was decent, everything else was close to extorsion. 3 EUR for a coffee in the room, 25 EUR for parking per night, 15 EUR for WIFI per night, 25 EUR per person for breakfast a day is un-reasonable compared to similar and even to much higher-class hotels.
We loved the angel but will NEVER come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SorenLotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechelen
0.2 mi away
Mercure Mechelen Ve
Mercure Mechelen Ve
#3 of 11 in Mechelen
334 reviews
0.4 mi away
VixX Hotel
VixX Hotel
#5 of 11 in Mechelen
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#4 of 11 in Mechelen
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
#2 of 11 in Mechelen
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
13.2 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Patershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Patershof

Address: Karmelietenstraat 4, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mechelen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mechelen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mechelen
#2 Business Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range: $107 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Martin's Patershof 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Patershof hotel in the heart of historical Mechelen offers unique accommodation in a former church. Brussels and Antwerp are 30 minutes by train from Mechelen Station, 1 km away.Combining original features with modern design, the stylish rooms provide a minibar and private bathroom.Every morning, Martins Patershof offers a healthy buffet breakfast with a glass of cava in the impressive choir of the old church building. Martin's Bar offers a wide range of Belgian beers, cocktails and whiskeys and free tapas at the end of the afternoon.Thanks to the 24-hour desk, you can explore the city and its wider area in your own time and come and go as you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martin's Patershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Patershof Hotel Mechelen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing