We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience”
Review of Madrid Madrid

Madrid Madrid
Ranked #38 of 206 Restaurants in Mechelen
Price range: $34 - $83
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Average experience”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Went with wife and child for tapas. Menu is not Tapas so if you want tapas then this is not the place to go. They have no potato dishes on the menu so we asked if we could have some for our 13 month old and were told "we don't have potatoes but can bring chips." But then our mains came with potatoes! Confusing and made us very put off.

On top of that the food was very very average, the place wasn't really baby friendly and service wasn't that great either. Kind of a take it or leave it feeling.

So on that I would say leave it!

Helpful?
Thank Steve_WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    52
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent paella”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I went here with my girlfriend to celebrate an anniversary. We were not disappointed. Nice atmosphere, service, food and wine. We will most likely go here again. We recommend the paella with lobster.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BertKq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Super service and food preparation”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We asked to take our small dog inside and the query came, "is it quiet?" Well, the small children yelling and throwing toys were very loud! After the owner asked them to take a spell outside, it was less noisy and we were able to enjoy our appetizers and mains. Good wine choices, too. All in all, a super meal and a nice evening.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeanieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“tapas at Madrid”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Madrid as the name itself tells you is a typical place to eat the tapa menu. the owner and his waiter have been running a restaurant in Spain and now returned to Belgium. the place is always full and you need a reservation to get inside. the best place to sit is in the back where you have the view on the river " Dijle" the wines are very delicious and the tapa manu is outstanding for 25€ per person you get 10 different kind of tapa plates (to be served for the whole table)
as a mixe of fish and meat and cheese. very close to the center and hotels, walking distance
just do it, don't forget to take reservation otherwise you won't get in

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank norbert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heemstede
Level Contributor
125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good location, well set table. Food much of a muchness more so if you know real Spanish cuisine. A waiter without real feelin for his profession and sorry to say not representative of what madrid should stand for!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank meerbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madrid Madrid also viewed

Mechelen, Antwerp Province
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
 
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
 
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Madrid Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing