We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice if you are adventurous”
Review of RONDA

RONDA
Ranked #5 of 207 Restaurants in Mechelen
Price range: $27 - $34
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice if you are adventurous”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for something different. We noticed that there were a lot of happy people in the small dining area. The food and service were excellent. The only small problem is that they really need more space in the winter.

I will be back the next time I am in Belgium.

Helpful?
Thank Wattsline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    212
    25
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent Return Visit”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I put a review of Ronda on Tripadvisor after a visit to Mechelen in August this year. We so enjoyed the food here that on a visit to nearby Antwerp recently (only 15 minutes away on the train) we planned a day in Mechelen just to revisit the restaurant to try one of their popular tagines. It did not disappoint. We both had the lamb with veggies tagine, it was delicious, tasty and tender. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly, even directing us to a short cut back to the station. Cannot recommend Ronda highly enough. It's a must to try when in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAGLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We four Americans headed out on a cold rainy night after days of meetings - we were told all of the restaurants in that area are good, so we randomly picked this one, and thinking of Belgian fare, so were really surprised by Moroccan food... and it just got better from there. Warm, welcoming, good beer, great selection of dinners, which were all wonderful, and I almost forgot how delicious the desserts were! I would highly recommend this place to one and all!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Friendly, cosy restaurant with good food at low price”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We already went twice and every time the food is delicious, service is very friendly. You absolutely want to taste theirs tagine's. What we appreciate most is that our 8 year old daughter enjoys just as much as we do the food and ambiance. The price and the above compensates largely for the fact the restaurant itself is rather small when they do not open the terrace due to the weather. Therefor, call them for a reservation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bestemaatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Ate in Ronda twice on a four day visit to Mechelen. First time had one of their daily specials, Sole Meunière, delicious meaty piece of fish which we were told came fresh from the fish market that morning, it was served with crevettes, potatoes and salad and was undoubtably the best meal we had in Mechelen. Second time we had the mussels a large generous pot of fat, tasty mussels with a spicy kick to them. Their house wine, red and white is also excellent. We were lucky enough to be there on a lovely sunny weekend so were able to sit outside and watch the world go by. In fact we enjoyed the food here so much that we are planning a couple of days in Mechelen just to go back and try one of their popular tagines!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAGLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RONDA also viewed

Mechelen, Antwerp Province
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
 
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
 

Been to RONDA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing