We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for lunch”

Brasserie Appelmans
Ranked #40 of 1,457 Restaurants in Antwerp
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In hartje Antwerpen, gelegen in een historisch pand, vindt u Brasserie Appelmans & Absinthbar terug. Een hippe trendy zaak waar u terecht kan voor zowel een snelle lunch, uitgebreid diner of fijn kan komen genieten van de uitgebreide cocktailkaart in de bar.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

The brasserie is situated in the centre of Antwerp. The atmosphere of the brasserie is just perfect. Old but still stylish. Unfortunately we had only time for lunch and not for drinking cocktails at night.

The service is ok with friendly waiters. We had a reservation for a large group so I do not know how the a la carte lunch menu is. But the fixed menu was very tasty.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nielsvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    348
    126
    50
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We came there for a quick lunch, we were really pleased by the cosy atmosphere. Food was good , but nothing exceptionnal neither. A nice moment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mapache_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and very tasty food”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My fiancé and I ate here on our one-night visit to Antwerp in October. He chose it as I am vegetarian and there were a few veggie options on the menu. We didn’t have high hopes at first as it does look more like a bar than restaurant, but we were pleasantly surprised!

For starter I had ravioli and he had beef carpaccio, both of which we really enjoyed. My main was a Moroccan vegetable tagine and it was so surprisingly tasty and packed with flavour! My fiancé had the pork which he said was some of the best he’s ever had, perfectly cooked and beautifully served. Really impressive stuff.

The service was excellent too, our waitress had fantastic English and didn’t seem to mind translating for us at all!

We were too full for desert, so moved into the busy bar area for an after dinner cocktail. The bar specialises in absinthe, so when in Rome...! The cocktails were lovely and the bar had a great buzz, even though it was a Wednesday night.

I would definitely go back here if I’m ever in Antwerp again, cool place with great food and service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Whenever I'm in the great city of Antwerp, I love to go out to Appelmans. Although its a big place, it has a nice atmosphere, good menu and fast service. Make sure to make reservations, as it is usually fully packed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tasty ”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Ate as part of a company event. Every dish offered was excellent: soup, capasho, fresh salmon, tuna.

I am stuffed. Satisfied and can recommend this kitchen

Centrally located not far from Hilton and Grotemarket.

Helpful?
Thank hbrodsly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Appelmans also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Brasserie Appelmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing