We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decreasing quality at Appelmans”

Brasserie Appelmans
Ranked #41 of 1,480 Restaurants in Antwerp
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: In hartje Antwerpen, gelegen in een historisch pand, vindt u Brasserie Appelmans & Absinthbar terug. Een hippe trendy zaak waar u terecht kan voor zowel een snelle lunch, uitgebreid diner of fijn kan komen genieten van de uitgebreide cocktailkaart in de bar.
Zoersel, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“decreasing quality at Appelmans”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Went to eat twice in this Bar/Restaurant. First time in september 2012 service was very friendly and the food was very good.
However much to our regret during our second visit a couple of months later nothing of this was maintained. Rather haughty attitude in general of the staff and poor quality food...... What happened ?
We'll doubt if we will return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    352
    126
    51
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Love this restaurant/bar. Great food, very attentive staff and the best cocktails I ever had. We come here every week since a few months. I've read the other reviews and I don't get some of them. Food is plenty and very nice, very tasty bread, prices are reasonable (for Antwerp), staff is very kind and efficient,... I'm not really into desserts but I love to have a 'Cookie Crumble' after dinner. It's liquid dessert ! Best to make reservations for the evenings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale AZ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hey, what happened to Appelmans?”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I like to go to Appelmans often when visiting Antwerp, but might not go back anytime soon.
Service, ambiance, location still very nice, but the FOOD really missed the last two times there.
The menu was quite different and maybe they changed chefs? Anyway, food is a bit too foo-foo
and small portions at even higher prices then before left me with a bad taste of the place!
A decision to order a nice dessert was a bad idea.in the end..the Tarte Tatin with Figs and Cherry beer
ice cream was a wreck. Ate a third of it and asked for the check.
Longing for the days of the Mechelse Koekoek!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scottsdalediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckz
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good food .... service is ok”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food we had was pretty good, but the service needed a bit of wor to be honest.
Long waits , and the toilet is a bit of a distance away too. The Dutch girl who served us did her very best, but had a bit to put up with in the kitchen.
A VERY long wait in the bar to be invited to sit ,,, in fact we went across and reminded the guy who suddenly remembered us ......

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TambonzRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice place, teribble service”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The atmosphere is nice yet the service is so poor. The way how the waiter serves in that semi-fine dining restaurant is so poor. The experience I got was when we paid the bills in the small change ( we paid 20 cents in (4) 5 cents ), the waiter impolitely told us that they didn't accept the small change..so ridiculous!! the food also not so delicious..overrated and over price!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Novi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Appelmans also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Brasserie Appelmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing