We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of De Godevaart

De Godevaart
Reserve with
De Godevaart is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 1,409 Restaurants in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $54 - $161
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belsele, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Top service, great food, great people, certainly come again in this fabulous restaurant. No stars but for me they have two

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    81
    31
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I have dined at this restaurant a few times now on my visits to Antwerp. Again this time, the experience was absolutely fabulous.

From the moment we came in to the restaurant to the moment we left, everything was perfect.

The waitress asked if we had special dietary needs and some of our dishes were adapted because of this.

We had a rather large lunch earlier that day so we decided to go for the 4 course taster menu.

The amuse-bouches were exquisite, very well presented and packed with flavour. We decided to have a glass of cava as aperitif and they poured a really lovely cava, perfectly chilled.

Our starter was skilfully cooked and well seasoned and the presentation of the dish was like a piece of art.

The main course was full of lovely flavours, perfectly balanced. The wine recommended accompanied the meal very well.

For me, the dessert was the best part of the meal. When the waitress explained what was in the dessert, I thought I would not like it, but it was really fantastic. I must get that recipe :)

After dessert, we decided to order espresso and a pousse-café. The waitress poured the largest amaretto I have ever had, no complaints :). The espresso was accompanied with a lovely selection of little cakes, simply the perfect way to end the meal.

By picking a taster menu, you put your faith in the chef. You will taste dishes you wouldn't usually order and I was pleasantly surprised once again by the skill and creativity of the chef.

One minor niggle, why has the restaurant stopped matching wines to their menu?

All in all the best meal this year for me!

Helpful?
Thank Els P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
131 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Stylish lunch with superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

My partner and I ate lunch here just before Easter. The restaurant is a short walk from the main shopping area so we could make a day of it in Antwerp – shopping and a wonderful lunch.
The interior is a wonderful mix of original features – have to mention the black toilet paper!
The presentation of the food is modern and works of art. The most important thing is that the food not only looks wonderful but it tastes wonderful! Everything from the amuses , to the bread and the main courses was not only presented with care but really tasty.
This is a wonderful place for a romantic dinner for 2, a (adult) family celebration or business meeting. We had the 3 course lunch menu – I think we spend around 140 euro for 2 with a very good bottle of wine and a couple of bottles of water. We thought it was worth every euro!
This is definitely a restaurant for fans of fine dining! Worth a detour when in Antwerp.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GLJDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
134 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pure enjoyment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have great expectations everytime I visit this restaurant.
I have never been disapointed.

The food was again superb, the service couldn't be much better..

Dave De Belder and his team make every visit a moment of enjoyment. His style is very specific, but he manages to create a great diversity of dishes with magnificent flavours, all well blanced.

The wine? A Château Musart 2005 reasonably priced and a magnificent German Riesling made this evening absolute top.

Another tip? Their house Champagne is more than excelent !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georges V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
143 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hmmmmm...........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I can't say it wasn't good because it was. The food was well prepared and presented and the timing was impeccable. The taste and textures were well balanced and perfectly seasoned. However, it wasn't the perfect dining experience due to the service. Don't get me wrong the service was very good however it felt like they were trying too hard to get everything right so it ended up being too clinical lacked personality. Would i go back? Off course. A great place like this deserves a second chance.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fajota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Godevaart also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to De Godevaart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing