We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Het Pomphuis

Het Pomphuis
Reserve with
Het Pomphuis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 1,410 Restaurants in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $146
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Seafood, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ibragg Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have just returned from my first visit to this restaurant. First impressions - as soon as you arrive it feels like a large reception hall and might seem a bit cold to some but once you sit down and look around you appreciate the history of the place. The tables are well set and the seating comfortable. Service as soon as you step in is good. During the meal service was also of a very good standard. Food was in my opinion excellent. I had the goose liver (terrine and fried) as a starter and its accompaniments were divine. Main was a simple beef tenderloin but cooked to perfection and the quality of the beef was high end. Prices weren't overtly expensive if you leave wine out. Wine is expensive so that highly inflates the price per head however there is an ample choice. For dessert I had the crème brulee with peanut butter ice cream - yummee. The place is perfect for a romantic evening. All in all not a cheap place so don't bang on getting a bargain but the quality is well worth the price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    368
    116
    36
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Revisited...a brand new terrace with a great view... and then the food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

While the restaurant itself is without any discussion a unique location and a must for guests who love to combine an refurbished historical industrial building with an above average cuisine, the new and large terrace provides a better view on the docks for those who enjoy eating along the water. I do not share the criticism on the prices as we paid a reasonable €31 for sea bass (zeebaars) which was perfectly prepared, while the tasteful chocolate dessert costed another €9. I do find this very acceptable for such a nice restaurant. This is not just a brasserie. As we arrived quite early on a saturday (around 12h15) the service was quick.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vuurvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumst, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“lovely experience on 9/04/2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Being with a strategic think-thank in Antwerp we decided to have a dinner outside;
Very nice location !Very good service!nice food! and ...a very special
environment.....Strongly recommended !!! Especeally for small groups (5-8)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, but go for a set lunch to get the price/performance ratio right”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This brasserie is in a converted industrial building with the original machinerie still preserved. It's unique, and the conversion is executed very well: despite the scale, the setting still feels intimate enough, the history is present without kicking you in the face.

Much less successful is the cooking. My starter was veal sweetbread and langoustine, with apricot and mango. A foodpairing that could work brilliantly, but the delicate ingredients were totally ruined by a brutal chutney and compote. it was war on a plate. Main course was the opposite: veal cheeks. This requires some bravoure to make it a great dish, but it was unambitious and bland. The other dishes served at our table were somewhat better, but never reaching the level one would expect at these prices.

Combined with the so-so-service, this was not what we were hoping for.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JM-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great building, special location, average food, sub standard service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Went there with friends on a cold evening recently. The building and view on the docks are great. Took some time before someone took care of us when we went in. Place was quite full but had reserved and were seated at a table in a far away corner. The interior is very special indeed and is worth a visit. It took some time before anyone bthered to ask if we wanted something to drink. At least we received a winelist and after a while could even orer a bottle of wine... It then took some time before we got hold of a menu (which was brought togeher with some appetizers. The trainee (at least that was our guess) could nt explain what the apetizers cinsisted of an told us "that these were typical little starters that were free of charge....". Itv then took us some more time again to order. After probably 45 minutes (we ordered another bottle of wine since the meal still had to start and this was supposed to be a nice evening out...) the starters finally arrived. After this the meal was served faster but for the main courses the table had to be reorganised, the plates being huge and the table tiny... Main course an deserts were good but not extraordinary and everything took time to be served... At a certain time we really had to draw the attention of the staaf to have espressos.... A niec environment, food aceptable, service sub standard and this for 100,- € per person. Clearly overpriced. have seen it, will not go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clarkvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Pomphuis also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Het Pomphuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing