We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh fish with attention to detail”
Review of Fiskebar

Fiskebar
Ranked #17 of 1,427 Restaurants in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $84
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Fish and seafood restaurant in a cosy environment. Good atmosphere, multilingual staff. Local seasonal products. Elaborate European wine list.
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
138 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fresh fish with attention to detail”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My daughter who lives nearby in Antwerp took us for dinner. We live in Japan, a country of fish fanatics, so our expectations for this cuisine may be to a tougher standard? In any case, we were not disappointed. Our starters, fish soup, mussels, cerviche and calamari were a prelude to excellent entrees. Two of us enjoyed a mixed grill (salmon, cod, shrimp, swordfish). My son-in-law indulged in king crab, and my daughter had grilled catfish. Each was well prepared. Our waitress was knowledgeable about the menu and helped choose a wine, offering us samples of several whites after we described our preferences. The portions were ample so there was no room for desert! We were early in the dinner hour so had a quiet corner at the start. But the popularity of Fiskebar was apparent when we left as every seat was occupied.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    239
    70
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent fish for lunch”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This restaurant is a very good option if you want good fish in Antwerp, not wanting to spend a fortune. The cafe-like atmosphere makes it more suitable for lunch than dinner, I would assume. The ceviche was excellent, and the mixed grill which was delicious and a lot of food. A wide variety of white wines by the glass. We missed the "frites", though, being in Belgium and all. We'll be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sinober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurenborg, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“always very good”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

it is always very good to visit fiskebar, great food and atmosphere
... so good it is hard to find a table ... but when you get one SUPER!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emanuela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I'm not a big fish lover - I was coaxed here with my sister as it's her birthday. They were really helpful with my questions and suggested I take the Catfish. Everyone was really pleased with their meal and my catfish was a good introduction to eating fish. Would come here again when I get a bit braver.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lucyloooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
513 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“once again super”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Re-visited the Fiskebar and once again we had a wonderfull meal: kingcrab, fried shrimps and shrim croquettes as startes; followed by a super turbot! Everything very fresh, perfectly cooked.
We'll go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiskebar also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Fiskebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing