We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Africa in Antwerp”
Review of mata mata & pilli pilli - CLOSED

mata mata & pilli pilli
Price range: $21 - $42
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Africa in Antwerp”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The food was delicious with big portions. So I do not understand why people complain about the price, it is not that expensive and you get what you pay for. The atmosphere is chill. I went on a Sunday, the restaurant was full. The service was very friendly and spot-on. Will definitely visit again sometime.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    35
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Alright, but expensive”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

It was pretty good, but the service was slow. The food was decent and expensive. A small bottle of still water cost 2,2 euro. I mean.. c'mon!!! Still water?? In a super tiny bottle.
We ate there because we were curious about african food. The guy who works there was really nice and helpful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adrianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good African food”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

On a Sunday night, the restaurant was almost empty and some of the dishes were no longer available. Perhaps our timing was a bit off. In general though, the food was nice and surprising: this is definitely a place where you can taste some new things and new seasoning combinations. The portions were large and prices average: the quality/price ratio is okay at this place. The service was friendly and waiting times were relatively short.

I'd recommend it for a quick bite with friends who enjoy non European food styles.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank kvanddekamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy cocktails and food”
Reviewed March 6, 2011

They have a list of about 17 cocktails, we tried 5 of them which were all devine, be careful though they don't taste strong but certainly are, most are based around rum or tequila with fruit. The food was lovely, tasty and perfect. The staff were pleasant and although service of food was not overly fast we didn't really notice as were enjoying the evening. It is busy so better off booking rather than just turning up.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niamh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“The drinks and sweet potatoes are great, the rest is average”
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Maybe we didn't order well, but we didn't enjoy our food. Dining room is pretty plain and very small. Main course portions are large.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thehumansponge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mata mata & pilli pilli also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing