We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for good jenever”
Review of De Vagant

De Vagant
Ranked #207 of 1,427 Restaurants in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
341 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Good place for good jenever”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Was here in May 2013. Good service, reasonable prices - glasses filled to max.
If You ask for the best You get the best I think.
Will go back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svharkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    38
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute bar”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Good atmosphere. Although the place is known for its jenever, the beer and wine selection is also fine. Attracts locals as well as the odd tourist. I visited this bar with friends and plan to return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sietske S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
873 reviews
551 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Last night and the jenever was flowing.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Saved this bar til last as knew it would be open on the Sunday evening and would probably be quiet (it was). Uber cool (or so he thought) young barman whilst a little brusque made no impact on this knarled 56 year old seasoned drinker! Great choice of jenevers and sampled several and many including a lovely pistachio number. Highly recommended for a bit of.... hic research!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianthelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaca
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Greatest choice of Genevers”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

As a regular visitor to Antwerp no trip can ever be complete without a visit to one of my favorite bars. The place has not changed in the last 25 years! The choice of Genevers is amazing. Decent choice of beers too. Very popular with the locals and lovers of classical music!! Very relaxed atmosphere and good service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anzoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Local bar well worth visiting”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I visited here on a Monday afternoon in June. The weather was nice and several locals were sat outside De Vagant drinking wine, beer and jenever.

I sat inside to escape from the sun and had a nice glass of Grimbergen Dubbel and a small shot of the daily special Jenever. I felt right at home here straightaway and just sat back and relaxed with my drinks for nearly an hour. I could easily have spent longer here but had more exploring to do and other bars to visit.

The price was very reasonable - I paid about €5 for my beer and jenever. Excellent value for money and I will definately return to De Vagant when I'm back in Antwerp at the end of October.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt_pool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Vagant also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp Province, Flanders
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to De Vagant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing