We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad smell in the room and terrible attitude by the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I could not fall asleep the whole night in this hotel!

As soon as I stepped into the room 405 I felt dizzy as it smelled like in hospital. Therefore I called the reception and a lady was sent to my room. However, the first word she said was "I don't smell anything", which is offensive to me as I am the one who is going to stay in the room and she did not respect my feeling.

Then she said it was the last room in the hotel , it was a very popular one if I leave the room I can't find any place to stay in the city. After a while, she came back again said I could leave the hotel but I would not have any refund.

Very arrogant and unhelpful staff, even the manager taking the phone. it is my first time to come to antwerp and I am very disappointed and upset in this city.

Moreover, the window in my room facing a terrified shadow of man in the opposite building, like nightmare.

Room Tip: choose another hotel if you can
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ksaladful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, General Manager at Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Every day we strive to give our guests a comfortable stay. Therefore we find it extremely regrettable that your stay was unpleasant. Hopefully your next stay with us will satisfy al your needs. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered at the Lindner Hotel & City Lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
There are newer reviews for Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Visited the hotel for a one day stay in Antwerp. The rooms were fairly big and very clean. The location is great being right next to the central station in the diamond district. Parking is perfect with a descent rate for 24 hours. Would visit again when in Antwerp. The only minor complaint I have is that i was told during check out that the beverages in the mini bar were complimentary. Would have been nice if there was a sign in the room stating this, or if this was told during check in.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Serge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, General Manager at Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear guest, herewith we would like to thank you for your pleasant review about your stay with us. We are committed to the quality of our goods and services and make sure we stay on point. Therefore, we find your positive review to be very helpful. We hope to welcome you back if you visit Antwerp again. See you soon! Kind regards, Peter Nuiten - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Perfect location if you are arriving in Antwerp by train! Stayed here for 3 days and upgraded to a room with a balcony facing the city. Great big rooms and heated bathroom floors. Would stay here again based on the professionalism of their staff.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a balcony room facing the city.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exaktoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, General Manager at Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to write this nice comment about our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially for mentioning our great customer service. Lindner Hotel & City Lounge welcomes you. Kind regards, Peter Nuiten - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel was directly next to the Central train station. Did not find the area “seedy” in the least bit. After an early arrival from the US, I was allowed an early check-in and proceeded to my room located on the 10th floor. Room was of standard size for a European property. Bathroom had enclosed shower and great water pressure. Everything was in working order and spotless. Room has a mini fridge which includes 4 complimentary beverages 1 cola, 1 fanta, 1 sparkling water and 1 still water. Replaced daily. Also coffee/tea making supplies. Housekeeping was thorough and 1 day when I forgot to take off the do not disturb sign, a bag was hung on my door with extra towels, bath mat, toiletries and extra coffee /tea supplies. A nice touch. Beds were comfy enough. No shortage of power outlets as well. Room was on the warm side. Like many European properties, air conditioning was turned off after September, easily rectified by opening window during the day to cool off the room.
Breakfast buffet had a varied selection and very accommodating hours – open until noon on weekends. Lobby bar was friendly and had very reasonable prices. One staff member in particular, Jean-Paul really went out of the way for the guests and was quick to offer a smile. He really made the stay.
Complimentary internet was spotty at best, at least from my room. Using airport express boosted the signal sufficiently to be able to use all of my devices. Was a bit annoying to have to keep logging in with the complimentary code after an hour would pass.
Would definitely stay here again. Great location near many restaurants and pubs. Walking distance to most major attractions, supermarkets and metro. Extremely clean and well maintained property with a pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aerobik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, General Manager at Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for your positive review about the Lindner Hotel & City Lounge. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel. Hopefully your next stay will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards, Peter Nuiten - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Good hotel located near the railway staion. Nice and friendly staff, clean and big rooms.
It has good restaraunt and bar. For those who'd like to keep themselves in shape there are also sauna and fitness.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, General Manager at Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear guest, herewith we would like to thank you for your pleasant review about your stay with us. We are committed to the quality of our goods and services and make sure we stay on point. Therefore, we find your positive review to be very helpful. We hope to welcome you back if you visit Antwerp again. See you soon! Kind regards, Peter Nuiten - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Lindner is a modern looking hotel right by the Central Train Station, with a very business-like atmosphere. If you are looking to stay close to the historical city center perhaps this is not the right place, even though Antwerp is not a very big city, but it will take around 20 mins to walk there. The area is convenient because of the train station, but otherwise it is not the nicest, some of the closest streets are quite dirty and not the greatest to walk at night.
Otherwise, the hotel has pretty much everything expected for a four star: nice spacious room with free coffee and tea, comfy beds (even though the double beds are indeed two separate beds put together, with separate linens). The decoration could be improved though.
I was feeling a bit uneasy about the room wifi, since some reviews complained about it, but it worked fast and smooth, and of course, for free. If you need to print documents, you can do it in the lobby, asking for a free code.
The highlight of the hotel was the fantastic and varied breakfast, even though the schedules should be a bit more flexible. Ten in the morning can be quite early if you are on holidays. Same thing about the restaurant, which we didn't try because it closed too early for us.
All in all, it is a nice quality hotel, but perhaps I expected a little bit more after reading the other reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanamente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, General Manager at Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear guest, herewith we would like to thank you for your pleasant review about your stay with us. We are committed to the quality of our goods and services and make sure we stay on point. Therefore, we find your positive review to be very helpful. We hope to welcome you back if you visit Antwerp again. See you soon! Kind regards, Peter Nuiten - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night in the Lindner, we were upgraded from a standard room to a first class ro which had a balcony overlooking the central station. The room was large and clean and the free mini bar (soft drinks and water only) was a nice touch along with the Nespresso machine. We had breakfast in the hotel which was a good buffet of cereals, fruit, yogurt, meat, cheese, pancakes, waffles, bacon and egg. Staff were generally friendly and helpful, especially reception staff who lent me a plug adapter when I realised is forgotten mine! Some of the restaurant staff did seem a bit surly though. Location was very central but I was a bit wary walking around Central Station late at night. Despite the hotels close proximity to such a big and busy station we weren't disturbed by any noise from trains.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_A_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, General Manager at Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind review about our hotel. We appreciate it that you took the time to place this review, as it means a lot to us that you care. Hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you again in the future. It is a pleasure to have you as a guest staying with us. See you soon at the Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerp. Kind regards, Peter Nuiten - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.4 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 72 in Antwerp
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
820 reviews
1.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen

Address: Lange Kievitstraat 125, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#1 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: $107 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen in total 173 beautiful rooms offering all comfort you need and 11 suites offering you a separate living and a balcony, a fancy Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, 14 multifunctional meeting rooms and secured underground public parking facilities. 'The 12th floor' a multifunctional sky-lounge with a marvelous overview of Antwerp, the place to be to organize your meeting or event. The hotel is even located in front of the TGV (High Speed Train) terminal. Recreation: Antwerp is a sparkling city with a wide range of entertainment. Discover the Meir, which is well known for its shops, have dinner in the Old Town with its pleasant restaurants or visit the Rubens house with beautiful paintings of the well-known Belgian painter Rubens. Rooms: Luxury bed rooms (some with balcony and a view of the diamond district) and equipped with air-conditioning, comfortable seating's, bathroom with bath or extended walk-in shower, hair dryer, large desk, safe, beverage facilities, minibar, telephone, LCD television with video/audio-on-demand and internet access. Services restaurant: Comfortable restaurant on the 1st Floor, bar and lounge on the Ground Floor. Carefully designed and offering food of good quality and drinks at competitive prices. The fancy restaurant, bar & lounge has an informal and relaxed atmosphere with light jazz and lounge music playing on the background. With flexibility in choice of food, the kitchen opens from 7am till 10pm serving anything from breakfast and light snacks to full dining (no lunch in the weekend and no dinner at Sundays). Meeting facilities: Let's Meet Again is a unique concept designed for our meeting rooms. It offers our guest all comfort they need to have a pleasant meeting, event, presentation, etc. All meeting rooms have WIFI, airco and state of the art equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindner Hotel And City Lounge Antwerpen
Golden Tulip Antwerp
Antwerp Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing