We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Apartments Antwerpen
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We read a series of decent reviews on this place and were in a bit of a bind so booked a one night stay at City Apartments. The area wasn't exactly upmarket but we felt safe enough. However, we arrived 30 minutes before the 4pm check in time to find that the office was only open between the hours of 4 and 8. There was no lobby to sit and wait in so we had to walk around with our bags until 4pm. When we did check in, the woman at the desk was very nice but was only on the property for a few hours. She gave us a mobile number to call if we had any problems.

We then found out that there had been a series of power cuts throughout the day which also continued into the night and next morning. It made taking the lift a big of a gamble, but we had big bags and were at the top of the fifth floor so we chanced it. It also made getting ready and getting out a bit difficult.

The room itself was big but smelled very musty. We left the window open but that didn't seem to do much. The shower tap in the bathroom was broken and we had a bit of a trickle of water. For me though, the worst part was the security. Our door had both a deadbolt and main lock but the main lock didn't work. Thus, it looked like the door was slightly open when we left. The safe in our room did not work either. Due to the paper thin walls, we heard the man next door coughing and pacing all night. At one point, he left his room and paced the corridor, hit the buttons for the lift and went back. I didn't feel safe at all.

Overall, it is a budget place and it's clean. But the security and thinness of the walls means I'd never stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank javila942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 102 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

I had some concerns about staying at Budget Accommodation but upon arrival in a very Snowy Antwerp I was met by a member of Staff who advised me that the room was suffering from a faulty heater but she instantly provided another!

The Room itself was a good size, clean and perfectly functional - the furniture & TV were a bit dated but in my opinion, that doesn't really matter. The Bathroom had a Bath with a Shower. there was lots of Kitchen Equipment bu I did 'trip' the electrics when using the pop-up toaster (but I think that's because both heavy-duty heaters were on the the same time! It was easier fixed as the junction box is behind a panel in one of the rather large wardrobes.)

It's only a Five Minute walk to Rooseveltplatz and is on the edge of Antwerps' Chinatown. I would serious consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Citysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be-Housing G, Manager at City Apartments Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Mr/Mrs,

Thank you for your positive review of your stay at City Apartments Antwerp! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Bart
Be-Housing Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We booked a stay for one week in the City Apartments in Antwerp as we were travelling over to the Tomorrowland festival in Boom, an hour from the city. Myself and my girlfriend were only really looking for somewhere to crash at the end of the day, so didn't pay much heed to some of the reviews complaining about cleanliness and particularly about the attitude of the the staff at reception. Since staying there however, we have been adamant about writing an accurate review of the place.

The location is ideal, five minutes from main shopping, bus terminals and train station. The studio apartment is lovely and spacious, comfy bed, nice sitting area. Shower and bathroom is fine. And the staff were all nothing but polite and helpful, most particularly the lady running the reception, who made every effort possible to make small talk with us, informed us of anything we needed and was immediately at hand if we needed anything. We really were very pleasantly surprised at the level of service we had in the City Apartments given the impression the reviews had given us, and we would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The City Apartments are across the road from the Budget Flats and both are BE Housing, running from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
be_housing1, Manager at City Apartments Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for this positive comment !

It feels good to hear that all the good work we have done the latest months wasn't for nothing.
Hope to see you back next year for Tomorrowland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

After booking one of the apartments online last minute I was alarmed by the amount of negative reviews I have read from other review websites about these apartments.

Myself and my partner stayed in a studio apartment for 3nights. When we first arrived at 4pm our room was not cleaned, the beds had not been changed, towels still remained on the bathroom floor, the bin was not emptied and it stank. My partner went down to speak to the receptionist who was really helpful and had found that unfortunately the cleaner had only cleaned one out of her 3 rooms. The receptionist quickly gave us another room which was lovely and clean.

The apartments are in a good location, minutes away from the train station and zoo. It is also only a 20min walk away from the hospital.

The only other issue I had was with the Internet, we paid an extra 15€ for faster Internet, however, it was not faster than the free Internet so I wouldn't bother paying for it.

You get what you pay for in respect of these apartments but all in all my stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
be_housing1, Manager at City Apartments Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear,
We're sorry to hear that your stay at City Apartments didn't started as it should. However, due to the correct reaction of our location-manager, your stay went well.
We rebuilded our internet network several weeks ago and since then everything works well.
Thanks and hope to see you bakc soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

At City Apartments Antwerpen you can rent an appartment at a very low price. The neighbourhood is shoddy but not dangerous. For the basic rate you get an appartment consisting of a living room annex bedroom, a bathroom and a separate kitchen with microwave, fridge, water cooker, cuttlery, table- and kitchenware. Our room smelt a bit mouldy. The shower head needed some care because the wall attachment fell apart. At night it can be noisy when anti-social people enter the building. At a premium you can buy early check-in / late checkout, breakfast basket, parking, fast internet etc. Basic internet is free but not very fast. cleanliness is OK. The kitchen has no door and no curtain, so if you want to sleep late you will be waken up by the light. We recommend using earplugs and an eye-mask when staying in the appartments.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrickoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

At City Apartments Antwerpen you can rent an appartment at a very low price. The neighbourhood is shoddy but not dangerous. For the basic rate you get an appartment consisting of a living room annex bedroom, a bathroom and a separate kitchen with microwave, fridge, water cooker, cuttlery, table- and kitchenware. Our room smelt a bit mouldy. The shower head needed some care because the wall attachment fell apart. At night it can be noisy when anti-social people enter the building. At a premium you can buy early check-in / late checkout, breakfast basket, parking, fast internet etc. Basic internet is free but not very fast. cleanliness is OK. The kitchen has no door and no curtain, so if you want to sleep late you will be waken up by the light. We recommend using earplugs and an eye-mask when staying in the appartments.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrickoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: appartement 603 is een goede keuze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rve17071968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.4 mi away
Condo Gardens Antwerp
Condo Gardens Antwerp
#51 of 73 in Antwerp
112 reviews
1.6 mi away
B-aparthotel Moretus
B-aparthotel Moretus
#52 of 73 in Antwerp
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen Port
0.7 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#15 of 73 in Antwerp
1,110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#60 of 73 in Antwerp
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Apartments Antwerpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Apartments Antwerpen

Address: Van Stralenstraat 49 - 51, Antwerp 2060, Belgium (Formerly De Strael Residence)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range: $62 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Apartments Antwerpen 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Apartments Antwerp has an ideal location, in the heart of Antwerp.The residence is close to the cultural center of town, in a quiet street, within walking distance of the important places of interest.Within short distance, you may find a bus and metro stop, which give you an easy way to visit the city.Only 15 minutes away from the harbor of Antwerp and the Bourla theater.Also the ‘Grote Markt’, the diamond quarter, the ‘Vlaamse Opera’ and the shopping streets, are located close to our residence.This residence offers 29 fully furnished studio-apartments, which combine the advantages of an apartment with the comfort of hotel service.The entire building offers free wireless internet to keep – during your stay – in touch with your family, friends en co-workers.At our residence, we offer our guests the parking facilities – which can be added to the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your City Apartments Antwerpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing