We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not your usual hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Matelote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Matelote
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Antwerp
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not your usual hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel is built within a converted 16th Century property and mixes some old touches with wooden beams, with modern comtemporary design. There is only (I think) 7 bedrooms in the property. One word of warning, the stairs up to the 1st and 2nd floor, are presumably original and very narrow, so not for anyone with diffficulty to climb stairs. The other point to mention is that having so few rooms, you often feel like the only person in the building, breakfast is a very quiet affair and after around 10pm, the reception is no longer manned and therefore presumably there is nobody on site. To some this may be the unique selling point and charm but it may not suit everyone.

On this trip I was given the junior suite, on the top floor, a very large room, with plenty of daylight overlooking nearby rooftops. This was known as the "disco" room as in the centre of the ceiling is a large glitter ball, which you can have illuminated throughout the night.

Although furbished to a high standard, it needs just a little attention here and there - the shower door, doesn't shut tight, so you walk out onto a puddle, but these minor things are not a reason to avoid the hotel. The location is superb a minutes walk from the main square in the city beside the cathedral with plenty of restaurants and bars and access to the River Schelde, a few seconds in the other direction.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikelondon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    101
    53
    20
    0
See reviews for
17
154
23
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keerbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had won a voucher for a 1 night stay and we’ve been upgraded to a junior suite. So we were not paying customers and maybe we can judge correctly. 2 points for improvement, first off all the stone floor in the bathroom is not very clean and difficult for maintenance aldo it’s very nice. And secondly the stairs are not very conformable carrying a bigger luggage when you stay for more than one night or travelling around. But the beds are very good, no disturbing noices staff is very friendly and knows what to see and do in the city. Breakfast is excellent and can be taken outside if the weather aloud.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan3140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
1,063 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

A small street. Two half block turns from Grote Markt. We have walked to four museums on our first day! The fridge is full of free water etc. tea and coffee are nonstop in the lobby. There is a courtyard and I am using wifi on the room's terrace presently. Gorgeous white room with couch. Just one flight of stairs. Bathroom is immense with every amenity. Good value, too. Very happy with our choice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nycmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Matelote for one night as part of a mini break in Belgium. The hotel was in a great location, in the centre and close to everything we wanted to see.
The room was great: spacious and bright, comfy bed and modern decor. The bathroom was really good, with a lovely big bath and powerful hot shower...perfect after hours of walking around the city. The complimentary soft drinks and coffee were much welcomed.
Breakfast was a perfect start to the day! Fresh continental meats and cheeses, bread and pastries.
The staff were extremely helpful and polite, and had good knowledge of the area.
Thanks for a brilliant stay. We'd definitely stay again in the future!

Room Tip: The top floor room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny_and_Kath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We have been travelling in Belgium and Antwerp was our last stop. Hotel Matelote turned out as a total disappointment. First what we noticed was that smell of old food, disgusting. The other thing - there's no elevator and staircase is very steep with radiculously narrow steps so it's impossible to place whole foot on it. Dragging big suitcase upstairs was dangerous if not only uncomfortable. The room that we've got (no. 4, second floor) was quite big, but worn and dirty. Same with the bathroom with plugged basin. Paint chipped out on the furniture, bubbles of dampness on the wall... I understand that they can't repaint the walls and furniture very often but cleaning up the tiles in bathroom should be done on a daily basis.The impression wasn't thrilling. But the night was worst of everything: the noise - first from outside the building and in the deep night from the staircase! We could hear every single word of our neighbours coming back to their rooms and every single step they have been making there. Awful, sleepless night. We would never come back here.

Room Tip: Don't take any room in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B0_S0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week end in spring and the hotel is conveniently located in the centre.

The staff is nice and very helpful and the room nice, clean and with a good bed.

Also, right next door is Invincible, an excellent restaurant for both lunch and dinner.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karius1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, its a quiet street very close to the center square. The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and always pleasant. They try to help you with anything. We had the top floor room which was very large with a view of the city. The only problem is the lack of elevator, it is fine for walking up and down during your stay, but with suitcases it is a challenge. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#22 of 69 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.2 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#5 of 69 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 't Sandt
Hotel 't Sandt
#11 of 69 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#25 of 69 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matelote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matelote

Property: Hotel Matelote
Address: Haarstraat 11A, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matelote 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the peaceful Haarstraat this unique hotel has the best location in Antwerp only some footsteps away from - the famous Grand Place with its stunning town hall - the Antwerp Cathedral - the River Scheldt, ... Right in the very middle of the heart of downtown Antwerp, home of Fashion, home of Diamonds, home of Culture, Port of Antwerp City by the water A short walk to the Grand Place, the Fashion Museum, the Rubens House, the MAS, ... . Only 500 meters from the Central Station, 6 km from Antwerp Airport Please take into account we have no elevator in this historical building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Matelote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matelote Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing