We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to expectations”
Review of Hotel Matelote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Matelote
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

While the foyer looks great and it is definitely in a great location, the rooms are looking a little tired and could do with maintenance, with chipped paint and generally looking a bit tired - they could certainly do with an update, as noted by another recent reviewer.

The superior suite on the ground floor has a large bathroom and a large area with wardrobes and drawers, but nowhere to actually unpack you luggage or get dressed other than the tiled floor, so you either dress in the adjacent bathroom or take your clothes up a spiral staircase to the bedroom/living area to get dressed. The charm of the spiral staircases wears off pretty quickly when have to go up and down them quite a few times every day. The room itself is very spacious and comfortable, with a rooftop terrace up another staircase (no views though).

The shower area and toilet had a quite strong odour when we arrived and the bathroom wasn't well cleaned - there was even a wet travel towel, left behind by the previous guest, in the hand basin. The shower had multiple nozzles and options but it didn't drain well and pooled up a few inches over your feet. Staff were apologetic, but it certainly didn't meet our expectations.

We also had a junior suite, which was up 2 levels of narrow spiral staircases. This made getting the bags up difficult as, being in the middle of a long vacation, we had large, heavy bags to lug up there, with no staff to assist. Another issue with this upstairs room was the balcony. While not an issue for our older teenagers, you certainly couldn't have younger children staying in it unsupervised, as the balcony only has a railing on two sides - the third side was completely open, as the 'fire escape' is a sheer vertical steel ladder down that side leaving a 2 storey drop to the ground.

Breakfast was average.

The staff were definitely very friendly and helpful and they were a big plus, but overall, it's an average hotel, fine for an overnight stay and you have to be prepared for the stairs. Until it's renovated you could probably find somewhere nicer for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrispluspassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    110
    57
    22
    0
See reviews for
17
167
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitzbuhel, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night i found location absolutely great! Glance away from famous chocolate shops, many restaurants and caffes in the surrounding area (i suggest Rubens Pub & Caffe located in the middle of start of the pedestrian zone towards the Cathedral). There is no elevator though this gives the charm to the hotel. For dinner restaurant Envencible just by the hotel (they share inner atrium) is a BIG MUST!!! Food great, staff extraordinary amusing, wine exceptional ... From the aspect of view as a hospitality professional i find the rooms bit unclean and renovation would be highly recommended to the owners but thankfully staff is way above excellence and politeness ... they absolutely ROCK (the blond girl and the guy working next day)! Breakfast was delicious (fruit salad) and the young lady served me with freshly made chocolate cake. Will come back for sure. By the way ... i highly recommend Antwerpen for a visit the city and the people are really faboulus,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank min0taur0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for one night and found the location to be perfect for a quick visit to Antwerp. The staff was all very helpful (insisted on carrying our bags up the narrow stairs for us, gave us good directions to sites, etc.). A complimentary glass of champagne on our arrival was a nice touch, as were the complimentary water bottles in the room. The public spaces on the main floor were modern, handsome, and well-maintained. As for our room, it was furnished in a spare and contemporary style. We noticed that the furniture and the wall paint, floor, bathroom finishes, etc., looked worn and chipped and could use a touch up. Apparently there is some construction taking place in the hotel, so perhaps those issues are being addressed, but we did also notice the construction dust during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umfalotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night (in room n°4). The interior looks surprisingly stylish and modern, considering the street where the hotel is situated. Nice entrance! Our room had a good bed and fine interior. It didn't seem too clean to me though, and the shower was a bit hard to set in the right temperature and position. Breakfast was basic and tasty. Especially the freshly made fruit salad is highly recommendable. And last but certainly not least, the staff: very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asfintesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vadodara
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed in this beautiful hotel during my last stay in Antwerp . My friend had booked this which has only 10 rooms and all are different . They have all the modern facilities but only minus point is that they dont have any lift hence you have to carry your luggage by yourself. But there are lot of positive pts like you are in the centre of Antwerp . You can walk around , visit nice bars which are open till midnight , good restaurant and ofcourse nice place for shopping. They have nice limited breakfast.

Room Tip: If you want quiet sleep ask for a room which is not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishant77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds,
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having read all the review of this hotel, I really did expect it to be exceptional. However having stayed there for 2 nights I can only describe it as average. The room we stayed in whilst described as 'cosy comfort' was very small with the toilet and shower/sink located separately behind sliding doors. At first I thought these were the wardrobe especially since the sliding door to the toilet was approx 3ft from the side of the bed. The room was clean with all amenities including a fridge located in the wardrobe!!
The location was ideal very close to the Grote Market and it was about a 30 minute pleasant stroll from the central train station in Antwerp. If I visited Antwerp again then I would probably chose somewhere else, mainly due to the small size of the room and poor toilet/shower location which also did not mask any noise due to the non lockable sliding door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disneysg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is located just off the main square and is a minutes walk from the underground stop (if you need it, we walked everywhere because it's all so close). The people who work there are really professional and very pleasant. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and the room we stayed in was lovely although a bit on the small side but who cares about that! So, I would highly recommend this hotel - for the location (perfect), rooms (lovely), and probably most of all the staff.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in only had access by a spiral staircase. I'd check first if you have mobilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fanjarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#24 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 't Sandt
Hotel 't Sandt
#15 of 72 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#25 of 72 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.2 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#8 of 72 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banks Hotel
Banks Hotel
#30 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matelote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matelote

Property: Hotel Matelote
Address: Haarstraat 11A, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matelote 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the peaceful Haarstraat this unique hotel has the best location in Antwerp only some footsteps away from - the famous Grand Place with its stunning town hall - the Antwerp Cathedral - the River Scheldt, ... Right in the very middle of the heart of downtown Antwerp, home of Fashion, home of Diamonds, home of Culture, Port of Antwerp City by the water A short walk to the Grand Place, the Fashion Museum, the Rubens House, the MAS, ... . Only 500 meters from the Central Station, 6 km from Antwerp Airport Please take into account we have no elevator in this historical building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Hotel Matelote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matelote Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing