We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a highlight in hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AAAWA Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antwerp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AAAWA Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 106 Antwerp B&B and Inns
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a highlight in hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great breakfast, immaculate rooms, location in the hip south of Antwerp, just a 15 min walk to the citycentre, many excellent restaurants and bars at the doorstep. But the best are the two outstanding hosts. We always feel like coming home!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

6 of us ( 25-30 year olds) stayed in this beautiful B&B over New Years. The rooms are all unique and full with personal touches, paintings, sculptures all lovingly designed by the owners. It's a home from home with the balance of being completely looked after!

Breakfast was amazing - so much choice and all freshly prepared. Ireane and Rick (eeekkkk I think - its been 5 months ;-) ) gave us personal tips and hints on the best places to go and really made our new years!

We also enjoyed a few drinks at sunset on the roof top garden from one of the rooms.

Thank you oth for a fab time! Julia, Ben, Cheryl, Nathan, Charlie and John xxx

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoogwoud
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

This was the first visit with the family. The atmosphere of the old but well kept house is something you have to experience. Add the warm welcome from the hosts, the breakfast with fresh sandwiches, the big rooms very well equipped and decorated with artwork from the ownwer and his friens, the terras with the view on Antwerpen and you know you are going to get evey pennies worth.

Room Tip: the penthouse gas got a terras with a splendid view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

We have visited AAAWA several times, and every time it is a wonderfull treat, nice clean and spacy rooms, in a beautifull renovated bud 'old style house', good breakfast and always two wonderfull hosts who are always open, friendly and helpfull. With all the information you need on the cultural happenings in Antwerp. Must do and must see!

Room Tip: The penthouse room is beautifull, with a nice terrace, for the bathroom you have to go downstairs, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

I stayed for a night in September. Very classy neighbourhood, and the bed & breakfast itself is beautifully decorated. Every corridor, room and hallway has artwork, most of it from the owner himself. The room was very clean, very big but cosy nonetheless. The bed was just gigantic. Breakfast was a lot, very tasty, and with a lot of variety. I loved the freshly squeezed orange juice. The owners are a vitalistic couple, ready to help and inform on any aspect of the city. There is a roof-terrace where the guests can sit to socialize or enjoy the view over Antwerp. The many flowers are sure to make you forget you're actually doing a citytrip.
On future stays, i'll be sure to book at AAAWA again. Great stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed there with three friends for a weekend. We arrived very late because we had to work on friday and then had to drive from northern Holland to Antwerp. They were very friendly, showed us the rooms and they gave us a map and a lot of information about Antwerp, shopping, sights etc.

The house is very old and from the outside it looks a bit basic. When we went inside we were happily surprised! It is a very nice building with a lot of old features and art. The owner is very creative and makes a lot of sculptures, which are exposed everywhere in the house and rooms. The rooms are clean and very, very sweet.

In the morning they make you breakfast, which is DELICIOUS! Fresh orange juice, pancakes etc. Lovely!

We were amazed bij de friendly owners and the beautiful building and rooms. We were there with friends, but I is also great to go there for a romantic getaway. I would really recommend this bed and breakfast for anyone who wants to go to Antwerp! I would definitely stay there again. Rik en Irène thank you for the great weekend! Greetings from the four girls from Holland.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marrigje19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

The owners gave me good directions and finding the house was easy. I recommend buying a book of tram tickets when you arrive (available at the train station) because AAAWA is close to several useful tram lines.
Belgium's tall houses are not suited to people with weak knees. Be warned, the top floor studio is up many, many stairs! The steps are also rather small, be careful if you have big feet. The bathroom for the studio is also 3 flights of stairs from the room.
Staying in summer would be nice as there is a private patio area for the studio.
The room itself is huge with good views over the town. There is some traffic noise at night but not too noticeable.
The bed was comfortable and large. The furnishings were good quality and clean. I stayed in winter and the room was warm without being hot.
There was no gel or soap in the shower, remember to bring your own.
The breakfast was tasty (earliest time 8.30am). Scrambled eggs, cereal, rolls, cold meats, cheeses, juice, coffee, tea.
The location is in a fine residential area. I felt safe the whole time I was out, even at night. There are some really lovely bars/cafes/bistros/restaurants on the walk from AAAWA to town centre. Everything I ate was of the best quality. Lucky Antwerpers.
There are bits of art all over the house which you can buy if you're interested. There is a price list beside the bed.
The price seems a little high for a room without an en suite bathroom, however, I would say that it is average for Antwerp. Belgium isn't cheap but they care about quality.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatpigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
1.0 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#9 of 71 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
B&B Guesthouse Leman
B&B Guesthouse Leman
#1 of 106 in Antwerp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Tissu
Hotel Le Tissu
#2 of 106 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quatre20cinq
Quatre20cinq
#9 of 106 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AAAWA Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAAWA Bed and Breakfast

Property: AAAWA Bed and Breakfast
Address: Leopold de Waelstraat 11, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistically decorated and spacious pentroom and suite at artist's home in the trendy south centre. Museums, shopping, wining and dining all within walking distance. Baby cot available. Free WiFi. Access to roof garden. Extensive fresh breakfast served in the dining room and included in the room price. City bikes available as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aaawa Hotel Antwerp
Aaawa b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing