We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a hotel, but ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Condo Gardens Antwerp
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
cologne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not a hotel, but ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Condo Gardens is not a hotel but a number of appartements in a converted warehouse. There is no proper reception and no restaurant, breakfastroom or bar. Flats are relatively spacious and equipped with kitchen, including fridge and microwave oven. The style and quality is somewhat of your first students apartement, simple and often rather wornout furniture. The main problem of this building are the very thin walls which are not soundproof at all. Be prepared to hear your neighbours television and their phonecalls.
Bathrooms are tiny and the lightswitch is hidden in the cabinet above the sink, but soap and towels and a hairdryer are provided.
Condo Gardens is obviously not the first choice for some travellers, but if you are looking to stay near the Eilandje area there are not many alternatives either. If you want to stay in this part of town and cook your own food, this is a good choice if you can bear with some noise. Prices are moderate and there are larger flats for groups as well. On the other hand if you like backpacking and are used to hostels this place is sheer luxury. Clientele is a very broad mix of budget travellers, some seamen, familys, partypeople and longterm visitors. Wifi is free, but relativly slow and some guests complain about a weak signal, but i never had any problems, you just have to leave the sign-in screen open while browsing.
Be aware that you need a mobile phone to call the staff which is usually not on the premises and that if you arrive outside office hours you have to obtain a keycode by email in advance. Outside office hours there is no staff and no check-in machine either, so if you turn up late at night and dont have your instructions printed out, you wont get in.

Room Tip: Flats on the 4th and 5th floor have steep ladders to the bathroom on a mezzanine level and there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be-Housing G, Manager at Condo Gardens Antwerp, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Mr/Mrs,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Condo Gardens Antwerp! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Bart
Be-Housing Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    27
    10
    14
See reviews for
12
27
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
134 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was booked here since there was a shortage of rooms. Once I had the booking I was informed that there is no "reception:" check in is only from 16.00 - 20.00 hrs. The place is an old building (warehouse) in a bad area of the city. No restaurants and not very safe to walk about at night. The room was pathetic. It was a split level, no airconditioning, no light in the bathroom till the next day I saw a tiny switch inside the plastic cabinet over the sink. The shower head was jammed so I unscrewed the head and held the pipe overhead to get a shower. Two skylights let in light but no way to screen them at night to sleep and the sun sets late in May.
Had to climb a rickety stair to get to the sleeping area upstairs. Overall a evry poor excuse for a :hotel" or whatever, I think Antwerp City should close this place down. OK it had the ususal frig, microwave etc. I paid for breakfast packages for 2 nights and did not get breakfast on day 2. I just left. Not worth even thinking about it again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rudetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

Pictou, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

This was literally a joke, there was no one at the check in when we arrived and wasn't supposed anyone back until Monday, it was SATURDAY!!! Finally got into our room, there was a dirty rag for a comforter on the bed, no sheets whatsoever!! Creepy men everywhere, not a fit place for any woman by herself. Bad neighbourhood, very dodgy, felt nervous in the area. Stayed in the room about 20 minutes and left, did not spend the night!!!!

Room Tip: STAY AWAY
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank briannagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

I booked the City Gardens Antwerp because of the in room kitchen and the reasonable price. I arrived at the hotel at 2pm and there was no staff present, with the door LOCKED. You cannot talk to staff other than 8am to 10am and 4pm to 8pm. No staff at all on Sunday. (seriously). During my stay, for 2 whole days, a workman operated a loud electric saw in the courtyard of this building, which is an old converted warehouse. Also: The elevator was broken most of the time, and upon check-out, the lady who is the manager did not want to talk to me at all, just loudly ordered to throw the keys in a box. She was too busy with moving furniture to care about a CUSTOMER.

Room Tip: Stay in a real hotel with 24 hour staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sketavong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Truiden, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

This is not a traditional hotel, build inside a former warehouse the original details have been preserved and all rooms have kitchenettes.
Service are limited, but prices are moderate and the rooms are really big
Price quality ratio is top

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinpeeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

I was very, very disappointed on my weekend stay at this location.

- on arrival, no member of staff was at reception and there was no note to indicate how to find someone. There was no response to the door bell. I called the mobile number I had had the foresight to put in my phone (at high cost to me, as I was calling from my UK mobile), and a very unhappy sounding woman said she would come. When she arrived, she was both unfriendly and unwelcoming.

- at reception, she said she hoped we were going out as there were lots of children staying. She actually meant noisy adults. She explained the lift did not go to our floor, but that we should walk up the final flight of stairs.

- the apartment was very dirty. The fake leather sofas had clearly not been cleaned in a very long time, if ever. Not only were they dusty, but there was a layer of sticky dirty across the whole of both of them, and bits of food stuck down one of them. They were dirty to the point that I did not wish to sit on them, instead placing a tea towel on them.

- the lighting was poor, with the central room lighting being too dim to see well.

- the bathroom light switch was inside a cupboard and difficult to find.

- sound proofing was poor. In the upstairs bedroom we could clearly hear our neighbours, even though we did not think they were speaking loudly - the walls were clearly too thin.

- at one point, the electrical circuit breaker went off, and all our lights went out due to a faulty electrical cord we had been given to use in the apartment.

- the wifi promised on the website did not reach our flat at all; I had prepaid for high speed wifi, which we could only receive by going down to the first floor hallway and sitting at a table. It was clear that only one transmitter had been placed to cover the whole building - clearly insufficient, and they should not be charging for a barely adequate service.

- no local information was provided at all. we were given no information as to the location of nearby shops, cafes of restaurants, and the receptionist was unapproachable.

- ventilation was poor: the mezzanine sleeping area was above the level of the windows so did not receive any cool air; a fan should be provided.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank els76uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2006

Location: De Pretstraat 11, Antwerp
We were desperate. On short notice, we wanted to stay in Brussels, but couldn't find a room (and, in fact, met people in Bruges who were commuting to a conference in Brussels because of the room situation). And the only room we could find in Antwerp was at the City Gardens, which is not a hotel, but apartments in a renovated warehouse. We took a chance (do a Google search to find a service that books them) and got a cheap rate.

From the train station, it was about a mile walk (although there are trams that go fairly close.) We were a bit wary at first, since the neighborhood is definitely non-touristy and working class. (It was until night when we were able to look into some of the apartments and found there was a lot of gentrification/renovation going on). Although the neighborhood might feel iffy to a single woman, we saw lots of woman walking in pairs, and a few walking alone.)

We arrived around noon, and found to our horror that the office was closed. But we spotted a woman cleaning, and she was more than happy to call the manager who, as it happened, was several blocks away at a street market that's held in a square twice a week. He quickly returned, didn't know about our reservation because the online booking service screwed up (we did do this on short notice), but he was able to accommodate us.

To our surprise, the room was clean and enormous, with a nice desk, dining table, a couple of great sofas, and tiny fridge, and cooking area. The beds were essentially cots with thin, but OK, matttresses. The bathroom was as tiny (if you're disabled, you won't be able to negotiate the shower) as the apartment was large. No bath.

The neighborhood was very quiet, and we, too, visited the market, which was fun. This is essentially a residential neighborhood---no restaurants, but a few bars , and several convenience stores.

There are no no-smoking rooms, but the room was pretty decent in terms of little residual smoke from prior guests.

For the price we paid, it was a great value---clean, modern, cable TV, large, secure. Just make sure you get a confirmation so the manager, Frank, is there when you arrive. Antwerp's a great city, and we'd stay in these apartments again, knowing we're getting a good deal.

Helpful?
3 Thank don666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be-Housing G, Manager at Condo Gardens Antwerp, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Mr/Mrs,

Thank you for your positive review of your stay at Condo Gardens Antwerp! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Be-Housing Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.4 mi away
City Apartments Antwerpen
City Apartments Antwerpen
#36 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen Port
1.4 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
#52 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
2.0 mi away
Tulip Inn Antwerpen
Tulip Inn Antwerpen
#41 of 71 in Antwerp
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#59 of 71 in Antwerp
3.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condo Gardens Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condo Gardens Antwerp

Property: Condo Gardens Antwerp
Address: De Pretstraat 11, Antwerp 2060, Belgium (Formerly City Gardens Antwerp)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Condo Gardens Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condo Gardens Antwerp is located in a quiet neighborhood, close the center of Antwerp and the new park ‘Noord’. The flats are decorated comfortably and practically and are equipped with all modern facilities, which give them a homely feeling.Condo Gardens Antwerpen is located in a renovated warehouse and is close to the center of town, which can be reached easily by public transport.All apartments offer a fully equipped kitchenette, a bathroom and a living area with tv. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Condo Gardens Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing