We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night to remember”

Sombat Thai Cuisine
Ranked #7 of 1,605 Restaurants in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Private Home Dining, Catering, Event and business meeting.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Yesterday evening, we enjoyed a delicious dinner for our mother's 65th anniversary. We felt relaxed and 'at home' is this nice decorated house, but most of all we enjoyed the authentic hospitality. Thanks a lot. We certainly come back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank elisabeth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sombat1, Manager at Sombat Thai Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Elisabeth B,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience.
I am delighted that you choose to celebrate your mum’s 65th birthday with us( she looked so young and so lovely ) and most of all very pleased to hear that your evening was wonderful.

I will share this possitive feedback with our team.
We are looking forward to see you again very soon.

Kind regards
Sombat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 347 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Sombat for me was already the best Thai ever tasted, but since he closed his restaurant and choosed for home-cooking he took Thai cooking to even higher standards.
Relaxed athmosphere, spatious and stylish, a limited number of guests (reservation is a must)
enjoys an unforgettable experience. We had cava and cocktail, appetizers, perfect spicy chicken soup, fried vegetable-and- meat cookies, grilled giant prawn with fresh vegetables, lemon, noodles and mushrooms, rice with chicken curry and scampi in coconut sauce, and
fruit salad. Outstanding, flavoursome, with surprisingly fresh and fruity tastes and spices.
As always at Sombat's, we had more than enough to eat, yet felt light in our stomach (and head: the wines too are carefully chosen). Thank you for another perfect evening.
Rita and Peter Hanssens - Antwerp

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank peterhanssens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sombat1, Owner at Sombat Thai Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Rita and Peter Hanssens

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to Sombat’s Private Dining and thank you very much for taking your time to write this review, we really appreciate it.
We are looking forward to meeting you again.

Best regards.
Sombat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Very good food and service! Will certainly come back! Atmosphere was very Nice and we very much enjoyed THE tranquillity. Not too spicy
But very Nice flavours!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sombat1, Owner at Sombat Thai Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Marisa D

Thank you very much for your possitive review about your recent dining experience.
Indeed we are very happy to host you with THE tranguility and peace.
Furthermore we are very fortunated with our big garden and a very quiet neibourhood.

We are happy that you enjoyed the dinner and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

best regards
Sombat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Dear Mr. Sombat.
Saturday evening our group really much enjoyed the home cooking experience in your restaurant. The environment was very stylish and soothing and allowed us to have cozy conversations. All the dishes were very much appreciated, as was the original appetizer. All this made the evening for all of us very successful. Each of our dining companions said definitely to want to come back. We wrote this address with a dot in our directory! Thank you very much for your kindness, your care and the culinary delights!

Nicole and Frank Verstraelen - Schilde

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank FrankV1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sombat1, Owner at Sombat Thai Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Mr&Mrs Verstraelen,

Thank you for taking your time to review your restaurant experience with us here on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your feedback, and it gives me great pleasure that everything you expected from our new concept private home dining was met and even exceeded.
We look forward to welcoming you back

Thanks again,
Kind regards
Sombat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I was shocked to hear that our best Thai restaurant in Antwerpen is closed few months ago and I try to find out what was happening with this bad news..but the true is ..Sombat is starting the new concept in his private home after more than 20 years of business, I could not wait to share my first experience .

Sombat Home Cooking is This is where someone opens their home and cooks dinner with guests or for guests.

Loved, loved , loved!!!
If you are a foodie, you will love Sombat Thai Cuisine’s new concept. We had an amazing meal and met some really interesting people. We "broke bread", shared laughs and traveling tips! A very enjoyable experience on so many levels!
It was fabulous!!! and unforgettable evening, Sombat could not have been more gracious. From the time of booking until we left, he was the perfect host.

Food was incredible and very beautiful garden...

2  Thank Bickx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sombat1, Owner at Sombat Thai Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear beloved guest,

Thank you so much for your highly up lifting review about your recent experience at Sombat Private Home Cooking ! A new dining experience...

Sombat Home Cooking’ is helping to stimulate the idea of eating out as a cozy, rather than a forced or formal experience..

We are very happy and excited about our new concept of dining out.

Sombat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombat Thai Cuisine also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Sombat Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing