We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Julien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Julien
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have been to Hotel Julien three times now, so time for a long overdue rating here.
Location is perfect. When you walk through the doors you leave all the stress behind, as well as the city buzz.
Hotel and staff are very welcoming and professional. Making the guests feel at home is their priority, so it seems.
A calm and relaxed atmosphere, stylish architecture and interior design, great rooms. Experience room is beautiful, if you opt for the dreamer room then go for number 11. Definitely make use of the Spa and book a treatment with Marc - he is great!

Best hotel in Antwerp, and we have been at many others.

We have just returned, but can't wait to go back to Julien.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnemarieRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    98
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
28
182
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Julien on my first visit to Antwerp in July.
Hotel Julien was a wonderful surprise. Location was very central and easy to walk to many areas of the city. The hotel itself was the perfect example of a "boutique" hotel and a wonderful mix of old and new. My room was on the top floor - it was spacious and had all amenities you would find in any top hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included with my rate and was good. Would recommend to anyone looking for a fabulous boutique hotel experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawnie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel is still wonderful a year after my last trip. Very conveniently placed in the old town near a variety of bars and restaurants.

Not only is the hotel very beautiful and quite luxurious, the interior is spacious combining original features with new. The bathrooms are huge (I was in room 27 this time and my work colleague in room 26), the rooms spacious, lovely bed linen and plants. Breakfast is to an exceptionally high standard with a la carte items available as well. REN products were distributed throughout the hotel rooms. Rooms have nespresso machines, but no kettle?!

My colleague and I used one of the lounge areas for interviewing fashion graduates in the expansive lounge and even with other people coming through or relaxing nearby there was so much space that there was no interruption.

However this time I had one experience that was very off putting. When I first arrived, neither my colleague or I could unlock the door to my room. The night porter came to assist and seemed annoyed that we couldn't unlock the door and actually treated us both with derision which after a lot of travel / arriving late left a very bad taste on the first night. For the most part though, staff were of the usual excellent service and when I made a complaint the following morning about this incident, the staff could not have been more apologetic and kind. This incident will not be a deterrent to staying in the hotel again.

A tip for anyone in room 26: room 27 can see directly into your room and entry to the bathroom area! Close the curtains.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddyHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Centrally located hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. Room was really comfortable and amazingly clean and breakfast was good with plenty of choice. I highly recommend it for everyone having a family!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I adored everything about this hotel. Loved the high ceilings and the bar area where you could get tea and or a drink air above your head makes you immediately calm.

I would say, you might have to be careful about tram/road noise but I had a great room up high. Really charming lovely staff. I stayed here close to Christmas time and it was very atmospheric.

I was travelling alone as a woman and it was not a problem at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swimmingfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Beautiful stylish small hotel in central Antwerp an old Maison de Maitre beautifully renovated. Very helpful staff. For me a couple of questions with the bathroom, and no tea/coffee facility in room !

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oystersandchampagne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I used to stay in this hotel a few years ago on a regular basis for work. I switched to hotel t' sand after the prices pretty much doubled after it was refurbished & extended. It's a beautiful modern townhouse which has become so minimalist that it no longer has the character and warmth that it once had. It's still a gorgeous place, but not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cushmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
1.0 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SLH De Witte Lelie Antwerp
0.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 74 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien

Property: Hotel Julien
Address: Korte Nieuwstraat 24, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#3 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julien 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Julien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing