We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Design in the heart of the town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Julien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Julien
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Kortemark, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Design in the heart of the town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very nice design boutique hotel in the heart of the old town. Ideal for a weekend-citytrip.
We had a beautiful quiet room at the backside with a large terrace. Cosy lounge and bar.
Friendly and helpfull personnel. We did not use the spa, so we can't say anything about it.
Maybe a better accommodation for check-in: no place to unload in the narrow street with a
tramway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefaan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    104
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
200
15
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a weekend away here for our wedding anniversary. We booked a "Julien Experience" which included a very large room including sofa / chaise lounge, full en-suite, entrance and a very comfortable king size bed. The room was amazing with soaring ceilings and original beamed ceiling. We had very peaceful sleeps - no noise at all and lazy mornings. The package also included an hour of exclusive use of the spa facilities (not including a massage) and they are located in the basement - original vaulted brick ceilings and magical atmosphere.

The best features of this hotel include the cozy lounge rooms with comfortable sofas and design chairs, a small intimate bar with a good range of cocktails / wines / champagnes available and they serve light meals as well. The breakfasts were very tasty, with a good range of Continental Breakfast items like muesli, cheese, yoghurts, fresh bread, range of juices, and they also did eggs/bacon to order.

The architecture and interior design are very special - the buildings are all historic but beautifully and respectfully renovated, one dates from the 1600's and the other "newer" building from late 1700's - 1800's, so a very special hotel to appreciate the history of Antwerp.

The location is very central, around the corner from the cathedral and Groen Platz, etc. but also within walking distance of everything including the train station. We walked our legs off and enjoyed quiet evenings in the lounge before retiring to our lovely room. The range of TV channels could be improved so we enquired about the range of DVDs available from the front desk...but then it turned out our room didn't have a DVD...so hence, not a 5 level rating.

Room Tip: It is worth taking the Julien Experience to have the large room and en-suite and get exclusive acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDCTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I booked the Chocolate Getaway Package at a rate of 239 EUR for one night. The hotel is centrally located (along a fairly noisy street but ok, it's in the city center after all) and has all the charm expected of a design boutique hotel (albeit a bit overpriced in comparison to other similar places.)

However, the Julien's really need to work on its expectations management. The website advertises a nice spa area to be part of the hotel. And indeed it is, but very small (max. 6 people), for private use only, and be aware - it is not included in the standard room rates but comes at a heftly 39€ /h for 2 people ! We would have expected to Spa usage to be included given these room rates - or at least to be specifically made aware that is not when making the reservation.

Other minor discomforts could also be mentioned (chocolate package in the room only 150gr instead of 250gr as advertised, cold egg dishes served for breakfast, orders not executed correctlyetc.) All of these not worth mentioning individually, but given the room rates and the expectations raised, they add up leaving disappointed guests behind.

Overall, better value for money in other hotels and above all, check in advance whether amenities you would take for granted in such hotel are really included at Julien's.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flipmaster_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

A great city and making the hotel reservation went very well with good service aligning to the website and rate you pay for the room. The hotel is nice but for this price I expect 5* facilities which is not the case. The room was pretty small and did have 2 beds as requested but these were very small, the shower had no hand held shower, the elevator did not work well, the computer as promoted did not work and they are understaffed so constantly waiting for someone at reception or for instance for table and plates, food for breakfast. As said nice place but the price you pay is too high for what you get in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisetteH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We arrived in Antwerp after staying in the fabulous Sofitel louise in Brussels for a week. We were not sure if the hotel would live up to the excellent standards we had seen at Sofitel, but it more than met our expectations.

We found the hotel with no problems - it is literally 25 minutes walk from the station down the main shopping street, then a couple of simple turns. It is an easy walk through nice and fairly modern streets.

The reception area is pleasant and we were greeted warmly, despite it being mid-morning. They apologised that our room was not ready, not a surprise or problem given we were so early, and told we could leave our luggage. We left our coats too as it was a warm day.

The receptionist gave us a map of Antwerp and gave us some ideas where to go. We headed off after being told our room would be ready at 3.

We turned left out of the hotel away from the direction we had approached. We found ourselves in the beautiful old town. The hotel is located where the old town meets the modern shopping streets - a great location.

There are a great number of bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk. The old market square and cathedral are also very close by, within a few minutes walk.

Everywhere in Antwerp is walk able from the hotel, the photography museum is around 35 mins and the MAS is around 20 mins.

When we returned to the hotel we were shown around the ground floor of the hotel, where the bar, lounge, terrace and breakfast rooms are. We were then given directions to our room and were left by the lift.

When we got to our room we found our luggage waiting and our coats hung up in the wardrobe.

The room was huge and had private balcony. It also had a large bathroom, separated from the bedroom by a folding screen and a separate room with a toilet and shower.

There were lovely Ren toiletries and a well stocked tea, coffee, mini bar area.

You could see the cathedral from the balcony and through the large patio doors.

The room had great air con which stopped it getting stuffy.

The bed was large and very comfy with fluffy pillows. There was Also coffee table and large sofa.

We were at the back of the hotel so did not experience any street noise. The room is under the hotels roof terrace so this may cause some noise but we did not notice any.

The bar and lounge areas are very cosy. If you want anything you may have to seek someone out to ask - usually in reception, the next room, or walking about. There isn't always someone behind the bar and they don't pursue you to buy a drink. They would be quite happy for you just to enjoy the lounge.

There is a small amount of food offered in the bar. We had a cheese platter one night which was lovely.

There is a good selection of beers, wines and cocktails. As well as soft and hot drinks. They have a great range of different teas too either in the bar or at breakfast.

The breakfast is a combination of cold buffet with breads, pastries, fruit, yogurt, cereals, cheeses and meats, and hot items on request. We were spoken to as soon as we entered the breakfast room and offered tea or coffee straight away. In fact after the first day they remembered what we had and offered that.

All the staff we encountered here were friendly and polite. Whenever we asked for anything they stopped what they were doing to oblige.

Check out was quick and efficient.

There is also free wifi here although it was somethimes a little slow.

We had a great stay here and thought it was great value for money. We stayed in room 28.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsACJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We loved everything about this property. The room was spacious and immaculate. There are quite a few amenities - the bathroom even had a heated floor. But the best thing is the ambiance of the whole place. It's an old building but the interior has been renovated in a very clean, modern way, preserving many details such as antique moldings and staircases. Anyone into mid-century design will like the decor. Service was fantastic. We left something in our room and they had it sent to us in Brussels by taxi. We paid the taxi fair but it was reasonable and they made it happen immediately. Very impressive. I wouldn't consider any other option if I returned to Antwerp again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We just spent four nights at the Hotel Julian in Antwerp and were impressed with the level of service (superb), the beautiful room (we loved room 10), the rooftop terrace, the great location (minutes from stores, cafes, restaurants, shopping, etc.) The breakfast was lovely, and as with everything in the hotel, the service and attention to detail was amazing. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.2 mi away
SLH De Witte Lelie Antwerp
0.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.9 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien

Property: Hotel Julien
Address: Korte Nieuwstraat 24, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julien 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Julien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing