We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great relaxing weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Julien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Julien
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great relaxing weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Enjoyed a great relaxing weekend in Antwerp staying at Hotel Julien. We had a 'Julien Dreamer' room (#8) which was lovely. Atmosphere in this hotel is so quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was good with a nice selection of breads/pastries/fruit/cereal etc.

Unfortunately no time for any spa treatments this weekend. Service was fine, everything we needed was taken care of. Everything neat, tidy and clean and such a beautiful building. Good, central location. Will definitely return if we are in Antwerp again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppetjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    104
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
200
15
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a quick trip to Europe that took us through Paris, Antwerp, and London. Having traveled to Brussels the year before, we thought we'd take a trip to Antwerp this time. We're really happy we did.

We arrived at the Hotel Julien, rang the bell to gain entrance, and once inside knew were visiting something special. This is an old building that's been rehabilitated to beautiful condition, and has been decorated with a high level of sophistication and most importantly restraint. It is not overly decorated, all walkways and rooms are spacious and not crowded. It's very tastefully done. Beautiful wood floors lead to glassed-in courtyards and stairways ascend to the floors above. As we were shown our way through the hotel, we were greeted with sitting rooms that looked very comforting and inviting. The bar was towards the back of the hotel and was again not crowded or overdone, but rather very minimal and sophisticated.

We were shown to our room and were so happy with what waited behind the door. Our room was large, particularly by European standards. A large bed was situated at one end of the room while a red Eames molded plywood chair waited near the door. The bathroom was modern and clean. But the most enjoyable part was realizing we were on the top floor and had windows that opened out onto our very own landing area outside. Like the hotel, everything you need is there in the room, but they are not fussy with their decorating. It is not sparse, but not cluttered either. Really nicely done.

We had breakfast each morning in the breakfast room. There was always a nice selection of fruits, yogurt, meats and cheeses as well as various other items to fuel you for the day ahead as you make your way around the charming city of Antwerp.

Location-wise, we found the hotel perfect. We could walk everywhere we wanted to visit within 15-20 minutes. Closer in, towards the hotel, were a number of bars and restaurants. This would be hard to beat for location.

I also think it important to mention the level of service we received. It was exceptional. Marc, who was at the front desk for most of our stay, was extremely pleasant, always smiling, and always more than helpful with recommendations. He even pointed out a restaurant that he thought we might like if we were looking for more of a "local Antwerp" type of place. It turned out to be an amazing recommend. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We made it a point to relax and have a cocktail or two in the waiting rooms (in front of a warm fire no less) before heading out in the evening and again, the service and attentiveness was perfect. So, hats off to Marc and team. They really made us feel welcome and at home.

My wife and joked that, before this stay, we had a five year run of knowing our favorite hotel we'd ever stayed. It had been a lock. But we joked that the Hotel Julien had probably just unseated that favorite, taking the slot at the top of our list. Highly recommended for an exceptional stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

From the outside you really can’t see, it’s a hotel, if you didn’t know it. But inside you are in a boutique hotel designed to the latest standards. It is located in two 18th century buildings, locked together via an inner courtyard patio. The hotel is completely renovated and nicely decorated.

The location of the hotel, very near to the famous Cathedral, in midtown is also great for accessing the Old Town center of Antwerp on foot. There is a public car park a short walking distance away. Luggage could be delivered to the hotel before going to this car park.

The public areas are really gorgeous and beautifully designed. The lounge is a nice place for relaxing, having an almost homey atmosphere.

The hotel lobby, although immediately off a busy street, is an oasis of calm and quiet. The inner courtyard with fountain opens off to two major public rooms, with the hotel bar just beyond. A light-filled breakfast room offers a great, well stocked morning breakfast buffet, with many ecological products, and a ‘cook’ that will prepare an egg any style that you would prefer.

We had a room in the building without elevator so we had to climb and carry our luggage up 2 very steep stairs. So when having a difficulty walking or respiratory problems I would suggest to ask for a room, accessible via lift.

Staff was very pleasant and efficient, although sometimes, when needed, nowhere to be found.

Al-in-all a very fine hotel with serene tranquility inside amidst a bustling city outside.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chavanowF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

I normally stay in Mechelen when I am in this area for work but have had to switch to Antwerp a few times recently and have now stayed at the Hotel Julien twice. If I had written this after the first stay I would probably have given it 4 stars because the room (basic level) I had was small and up 2 flights of pretty steep stairs - which was not great for me as I had knee surgery earlier this year.

However, on my second stay, I asked for a more accessible room and discovered that they have rooms that are accessible by lift and I was put in a much bigger and nicer room (I think probably this would be a higher grade of room). This made a huge difference to my experience of the hotel!

The public areas are really gorgeous too, beautifully designed and really nice spaces for relaxing in, almost like being at home and having a lovely living area, which is a treat when you travel for work a lot and often end up stuck with the option of either sitting in your room or in a busy bar. The staff are lovely, very friendly and helpful, and I like the fact you can get a light meal late in the evening (which the receptionist prepares).

The location of the hotel is also great for accessing the centre of Antwerp on foot and there is a public car park a short walk away which is fine as long as you don't have heavy bags to manage.

Overall, I would really recommend this hotel for a business or leisure stay, but don't go for the cheapest rooms as you will probably be a bit disappointed!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and stay in a nicer room. Also, ask for a room with lift access if you have any issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaJane072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockanje, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

A very nice hotel in the centre of Antwerp.
From the outside you hardly see there is an hotel, but as soon as you enter the front door you are inside a hotel designed to the latest standards. It is located in two old Antwerp buildings but is completely renovated and so nice decorated.
Breakfast was a little sober.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank In_J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Julien for only 1 night in July 2011. It was a last minute decision, as we came from our holidays in France and decided just the night before to stop in Antwerp. After reading the reviews here, we decided to stay and book. Booking was very easy done directly through their website and we even called them to make sure it came through their reservation system, since it was such short notice.

On arrival the extremely nice receptionist gave us our keys and checked us in. The room we got was just amazing, very big and everything you could wish for. The bathroom was extremely big as well with a free standing, very contemporary bathtub.

The one night stay turned out to be our engagement night and we both could have not wished to stay anywhere else but at Hotel Julien. We celebrated our engagement in the very lovely bar area right in front of an open fire. It was so romantic and both staff (there were only two) were just so nice and extremely attentive.

We would definitely stay here again and hope to return back one day for more than just one night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Very tasteful furnished hotel in Antwerp. The rooms are spacious, my room was extremely quite and cosy. Very good bed and Nespresso coffee machine in the room.
Basic breakfast buffet but very good quality, enough choice.
We had a management meeting there and the meetingroom was satisfying. I would rather recommend this hotel for a weekend stay in Antwerp, the location is close to the nice shopping areas of Antwerp.
Staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR1Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.2 mi away
SLH De Witte Lelie Antwerp
0.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.9 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien

Property: Hotel Julien
Address: Korte Nieuwstraat 24, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julien 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Julien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing