We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful church”

Carolus Borromeus Church
Ranked #14 of 159 things to do in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Beautifully renovated Jesuit church in the heart of Antwerp looking out onto a wonderful old Square.

Helpful?
Thank mikael_learmonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    115
    19
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another gem!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Had lunch in a restaurant sintuated nearby, in Heinrich Conscience Square and popped in the Church after. Brilliant place with some wonderful paintings. Whole atmosphere enhanced by fact an orchestra were rehearsing while we were there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank chromeyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful baroque church”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you can try to go when there is a concert. It's magical! The place in front of the church is lovely for a drink afterwards. Nice neighbourhood for a stroll.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Furge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one of the BEST church”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was on foot when i visited Antwerpen,and it was wonderful, belgium people just friendly, i did not manage to go to the cathedralm because i have to pay the entrance fee.. and yeah i heard about the famous japanese story about that that cathedral right there.
I can still smell and feel the church there.. such a magnificent art works there, crafted details and majestic, really represent the symbol of perfection and divinity.
I was walking to go there on my way to find the other church, but then someone on the street offered me lift to st paul church which has the most magnificent, awesome reuben painting!
well mostly those churches there are GREAT and amazing

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank magdalene l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Marvellous baroc church at quiet but beautiful square”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

You can find this beautiful baroc church at the Conscienceplein, one of the nicest squares in Antwerp that makes you feel you are somewhere in Italy. A must see if you are on a city tip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 19G00dF00d76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolus Borromeus Church also viewed

 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Carolus Borromeus Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing