We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Magnifico

Il Magnifico
Ranked #385 of 1,396 Restaurants in Antwerp
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
251 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Rude staff.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a table reserved early as we were off to a show. When we arrived a little early the staff were still setting up so we offered to sit outside with a bottle of wine. The staff were so rude & dismissive..."No, come back in 45 minutes." Our table should have been ready in 20 minutes! So we left & found a friendlier restaurant. Pity ~ I heard the food was good but the staff.....boo.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TopsMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    33
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Because Sergio Herman was visiting the restaurant, service was very poor. We didn't get attention at all, and the food was not that good as other times. Really sad that one VIP can ruin the service for all other paying guests.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ThomasPeeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pathetic staff who start smoking cigars at 11 pm besides guests”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were with office colleagues. The food was good. But the staff posed like city mafia and started smoking cigars besides us at 11 pm. Some other guests gave a stare and left rightaway. Also, nude and ugly woman pics on either walls. Not somewhere I can take my family.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank samv1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, service ok but to be optimized”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Good simple but tasty Italian cuisine, as it should be. Size of the dishes was somewhat strange - my starter was larger than my main dish (but that's a detail).
Service acceptable, but could be improved. Mostly, waiting staff was not extremely attentive and slow in bringing our wine. Not unfriendly though.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp Province, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true Italian Osteria ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is making you feel like you are dinning at friends house in Italy. Great authentic food by chef Sandro Luci and the atmosphere created by Renzo Mela are the combination of a special place to be.
I warmly recommend it to all. Make sure you make reservations as you might not get in ;)

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Magnifico also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Il Magnifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing