We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good option just minutes from everything you want to see and do in Antwerp”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good option just minutes from everything you want to see and do in Antwerp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Found a very good one night rate here on our trip around Benelux and didn't regret paying just a little extra for a very well appointed hotel. Warm welcome, reserved parking (though it is free on the street from 7pm, you're gonna be competing with some pretty manic locals, so why bother? Suck it up and pay for secure, clean, locked, underground parking.)
Room was very large, well appointed with mini bar, nice TV, big balcony overlooking inner courtyard, and supremely comfortable bed. Dead quiet too at the back of the hotel.
Breakfast's not cheap though at 15 euros so hold on, take a little walk in the morning and go to one of the local patisseries in the area instead, our hit a supermarket the migh night before for some juice and yogurt and you'll have money in the bank and get a better breakfast anyway.
Tram is one minute away right to central station or to the Meir for shopping, and everything else is walking distance anyway.
Well recommended hotel, and I'd likely have no hesitation to stay here again and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    149
    55
    16
    15
See reviews for
31
149
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

On a business trip, they just gave my colleague and me one key to a double even though we had a pre-booking, pre-paid confirmed 2 singles. Thankfully my colleague didn't snore much (or I was just too tired to notice). We each had a separate room in an apartment but my toilet was in the joint hallway in the apt. The room had no table, desk or luggage rack. No minibar and no TV in the room. The TV was in the joint living room which we didn't need.
What was disappointing more than the room arrangement was that nobody explained the arrangement to us and nobody apologized. They just said "follow me" (to this apt in the adjacent building). Well... this was the last time I'll be following anybody at this hotel. There are others.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danib99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is an extremely well-run hotel that is an excellent choice for both vacationers and businesspeople. Located one (long) block from the Stadspark and within easy walking distance of the rail station, the old city and other attractions (a tram stop is just around the corner if you don't want to walk). The rooms are (very) large, well-equipped and with very modern bathrooms. The breakfast buffet is enormous. All the staff was extremely helpful, especially Wendy, one of the receptionists, who always seemed to be on duty when we had a question.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back with a balcony and a view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virton, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights in late September in one of the larger rooms at the back of the hotel with a terrace. The room was large and comfortable, as was the bed (twin beds, but that was OK for us). Although we were in a room next to the lift, we couldn't hear it and the heating / air conditioning was efficient and unobtrusive.
The staff both on the front desk and in the restaurant were efficient and friendly.
The hotel is well located, both to get to by car or to get to and from the city centre (or station) by public transport or on foot.
Downsides: the signal of the free wifi in the room was sometimes a little bit weak, a few marks on the carpet, and the reserved parking spot in the garage was being used by another guest (but there was another parking space available).
Despite this, we would happily stay there again and recommend the hotel to anyone going to Antwerp for a short or longer stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, take one of the deluxe double rooms with balcony situated at the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in Antwerp and thanks to a good friend ( " De Guy " ) we did sleep in the plaza Hotel . It was really a superb stay ! The Rooms are very big and extremely quiet . The hotel is in the middle of Antwerp city and only 15 minutes walk from the railwaystation .Really excellent !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludwig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice, large and quiet rooms ! and a superb breakfast !
Very good experience for a good nght sleep in Antwerp !
The five of us experienced the same good feeling !

Een echte aanrader.

Wim & Sofie (belgium)

Room Tip: We (5) all had a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

excellent hotel with a fantastic breakfast for those who love food, very good location next to the trams which connect the hotel with the centre by 10 minutes ride, parking for the car avaliable as well

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia_rippl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
1.1 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
1.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#13 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antwerp City Hotel
Antwerp City Hotel
#20 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Property: The Plaza Hotel
Address: Charlottalei 49, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Antwerp
#10 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#12 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star boutique hotel in the center of Antwerpen, within walking distance of all tourist sights and shopping streets. Public transport at the hotel. Few tram stops away from the Antwerp Expo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing