We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The square mile of diamonds”
Review of Diamond District

Diamond District
Ranked #44 of 138 things to do in Antwerp
Attraction details
Reviewed November 9, 2015

Go alone to the diamond shops, ask always a diamond grading report, so it helps you if it is real !
If you like the make of the jewel, if you like the diamand, buy it !

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank JanV915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"window shopping"
in 14 reviews
"engagement ring"
in 18 reviews
"read some bad reviews"
in 2 reviews
"design your own"
in 2 reviews
"expensive jewelry"
in 2 reviews
"armed guards"
in 2 reviews
"central station"
in 11 reviews
"philippe"
in 15 reviews
"jewellers"
in 22 reviews
"diamond"
in 60 reviews
"certificate"
in 15 reviews
"dealers"
in 10 reviews
"hrd"
in 7 reviews
"haggle"
in 6 reviews
"jews"
in 4 reviews
"buyer"
in 4 reviews
"homework"
in 3 reviews
Filter

78 - 82 of 387 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2015

there are alot of jews around this area ( facing train station ) they have armed guards protect them we seen small children speaking to them it was a sight i will never forget. there are plenty of diamond shops even if you are just window shopping

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank joanne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2015

The Diamond District in Antwerp is popular for its Diamond Trading activities and many Jewelry shops around the area. The area has many shopping centers and restaurants nearby.

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank Akshay1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2015

I went with the sole purpose of buying an engagement ring. Peter Poussenier and Gela Diamonds Interrnational were the best places.

I went at least 10 shops in Antwerp. All of them varied in trustworthiness, knowledge, price etc but there were only two places I could go back to.

Gela Diamonds clearly knew their stuff. They were so well-informed and helpful. I didn't decide to buy with them in the end as I saw another diamond that fit the bill - but there were no hard feelings despite having spent so much time with me. I would definitely recommend.

I had made contact with Peter Poussenier beforehand and he had prepared a lot for me. He had one diamond in particular that stood out and that combined with his skill as a jeweler did it for me.

Date of experience: October 2015
5  Thank JR2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2015

A big part of the Antwerp economy rests on the diamond trading and finishing industry. I used to work in the diamond industry long time ago and a lot of the trade has moved to places like Dubai and India but still it's nice to walk around and ne amased by the people, amazing jewelry and good food! Most nice Indian and Jewish food shops and restaurants are located in the Empire Shopping Center. Have a walk around...

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank JoeldeGraaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond District also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Diamond District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing