We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”
Review of Diamond District

Diamond District
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.77*
and up
1 Hour Antwerp Citytourbus
Ranked #40 of 152 things to do in Antwerp
Attraction details
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Came by train to visit Antwerp, and found right next to the central railway station the Diamond district. Quite a quaint area, dominated by chaissidim jews but really worth to make a detour. Hardsellers, so careful or you are going to leave this area with extra jewellery!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex55_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    90
    84
    31
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Philippe Harold Jewellery & Diamonds”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Myself and my Fiance dealt with Philippe Harold. We found him to be a gentleman... very professional, polite, informative and most importantly NOT pushy at all. My fiance really liked his manner. if you can, make an appointment with him before hand. In order to make the saving really worthwhile when it comes to purchasing the diamond,you must pay in cash... upfront cash, thus avoiding tax. We paid just over 10k for her diamond and later got it valued in both Ireland and England for almost double that. (remember we paid cash straight to harold, hence 20% saving at Belgium prices never mind the extortionate irish prices!) we compared diamond specs( ie 4cs) of what we wanted with the other four government approved shops in the diamond district- got a price off them then came back to harold asking him to better his initial offer- haggling i guess... do it! NB...For us it was important that the cut, polish and symmetry of the diamond were ALL EXCELLENT aka xxx. theses are also on the cert in addition to the 4 c's. And also confirm that theres no fluorescence in the diamond. this can be checked under a ultra violet light that the jewller has. When it comes to certs. a make sure you go for a GIA cert or the HRD cert. the GIA is generally regarded and valued more. Make sure the Serial number on the diamond corresponds to the Serial number on the Cert and use a magnifying glass in the jeweler to verify this. To summarise I would definitely recommend Philippe Harold. Certainly knows his stuff, a good guy. Hope you found this helpful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
21 Thank 286athacliath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Do Not Buy Diamonds from Emerald BVBA”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was so excited at the opportunity to purchase diamonds while on vacation in Antwerp. On June 8, I purchased a pair of one carat diamond stud earrings. I was looking for quality, not size and paid $1800 euro. The owner gave me a certificate and said the studs were colorless with a v v s1 clarity. They were appraised in the US as clarity I 1, near colorless with a lot of visible defects. One of the studs had also been "enhanced" to hide the defects which is illegal in the US. They are of such poor quality that I was advised not to have the studs steam-cleaned because the enhancement would deteriorate. This was a significant disappointment. My advice to anyone shopping for diamonds is to walk past this shop. It is not a reputable business.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
33 Thank Elevene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
227 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Rather dull, but we weren't looking buy”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were staying in the vicinity and wandered over to the diamond district, figuring we would see some colorful shops, sellers and purchasers. All in all, it was rather dull. The quality of the diamonds (at least those in the windows and shopcases) seemed rather mediocre. And the area did not have any of the vibrancy and cultural feel that we expected based on the diamond district in NY. It's hard to imagine that one could find a "bargain" here, but who knows?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LotsaTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Geretti for the most beautiful diamonds and excellent service”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was in Antwerp in July shopping for the perfect engagement ring as myself and my fiancé had recently got engaged and he wanted the best and most beautiful diamond for me, so he flew me to Antwerrp, the Diamond capital of Europe. We had organised three appointments in three of the top jewellers who had all the accreditations that you are told to look for before purchasing a diamond. We went to Gerretti, Phillipe Harlod and Orsini. All the jewellers were very helpful,very informative and had the most beautiful rings and diamonds. But it was Marc at Gerretti, who won me over with his friendly personality and dedication in finding the perfect ring and diamond for me. I tried different styles of rings and different cuts of diamonds and after maybe an hour I knew that I had found the perfect ring. Even though I had one more appointment left, I had made my decision that Gerretti's, was where I wanted to get my diamond from.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank LallipopIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond District also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Diamond District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing