We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grateful of a restful nights sleep”
Review of Priorij Corsendonk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Priorij Corsendonk
Ranked #25 of 112 Antwerp B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed her after a long days driving and were very grateful of a comfortable place to sleep. It was slightly weird that no-one was there to greet us on arrival at reception and they just left our keys out on the counter. The bedrooms were basic but very comfortable but couldn't fault it. The breakfast selection was great and the bar/restaurant downstairs looked really nice. A great place to stop and rest en-route!
There is also quite a nice Restaurant down the road that seemed to be very popular with the locals and can cater for large groups.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hans_dot_thom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 78 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Rooms extremely basic and probably not changed since the monks stayed there. The place itself is fascinating if you take the time to look around Food ok, nothing special, staff seemed quite rude and off hand, with the exception of the cook who helped me find my keys on arrival ( arrived late at night when reception closed - well not too late 9pm) Glad I wasn't paying!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penrosemoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Most of the comments one can make about this place (a former Baroque priory, renovated into a hotel facility) are positive. The environment is stunning, rooms comfortable and large, bathroom spacious with separate shower and bath, but...
...The facility is left unattended from 6pm till early morning, thus causing problems of you need toiletries or minibar refills...
Be prepared to miss airco in the hottest spot of Belgium.
But all in all, not Too bad an experience...

Room Tip: Rooms facing North are fresher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpatrickdewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for an offsite meeting.
Location is fantastic, in the middle of peacefull forests and grasslands. So take the time to make a walk here. We got a running tour of 6 km from the reception desk (they made a copy from te map for us), for which we just had to follow the yellow poles. A wonderfull way to start the day!
Meetings rooms are charming, in an old building, as is the dining room.
In contrast to what I expected, the hotel rooms don't have this old fashioned charm. they are in newer building, which can already use some upgrading, and have more like a student room feeling. However, they are very clean, very big, a huge bathroom, a big workdesk, and a comfortable bed. So very convenient to stay in; I did not like the first look but in the end loved my stay here.
The catering/restaurant/breakfast is just OK, but not very good.
Recommend this place! Especially for like off site meetings.

Room Tip: the rooms in "het lekenhuis" are supposed to be fancier. I had a room in " de schuur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belgian_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

En route from Antwerp toward Germany we stumbled upon this lovely hotel in a pleasant rural town of Oud-Turnhout. The rooms are basic, clean and comfortable with charming architectural details. There are several dining options in the area we elected to eat at an affiliated establishment. The local blond beer was soothing following a long day of touring.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We received a gastronomy weekend in this hotel as a gift. Knowing Belgian cuisine we were expecting a lot. However, despite a pleasant stay, the hotel was a bit of a let down.

Mind you, despite the address mentioned here, the hotel is NOT in Antwerp but in Oud-Turnhout, still a good 35km from Antwerp! It's in a more remote surroundings, so you will need a car to get anywhere.

+ Located in an old monestry... beautiful surroundings and monestry gardens to walk
+ Friendly staff
+ Clean

- Hotel room is nineties basic, good to sleep but nothing more.
- Food is okay, but nothing special... nothing to do with gastronomy at all!
- Service in restaurant is slow... perhaps they mistaken lots of time between the dishes with culinairy?
- Breakfast is decent, again nothing special.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

I was on a bike trip from Brussels to Tilburg and this hotel was just in the area where I wanted to stop for the night. The hotel is an old monastery in a nice area.
Check-in was uncomplicated, the hotel staff in general was very nice and accomodating. I could take my bike into the room. I had booked a "monk-room", the most economic choice. The room was simple but adequate and located in one of the original monastery buildings. There was a slight moldy smell that did not bother me too much.
The dining room was booked out for dinner on the night I stayed there but there was a nice restaurant with good local food within walking distance.
The breakfast was good but quite overpriced at 13 Euro.
I would definitely stay here again, but for longer stays I would upgrated to one of the more expensive rooms in the newer buildings.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank girbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
26 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
#30 of 73 in Antwerp
742 reviews
26.7 mi away
Postiljon
Postiljon
#48 of 73 in Antwerp
179 reviews
26 mi away
Amaaj B&B
Amaaj B&B
#40 of 112 in Antwerp
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 mi away
JVR108 Luxury Guesthouse
JVR108 Luxury Guesthouse
#12 of 112 in Antwerp
37 reviews
27.2 mi away
Maison de Trazegnies Antwerp
26.8 mi away
B&B Urban Dreams
B&B Urban Dreams
#27 of 112 in Antwerp
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priorij Corsendonk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priorij Corsendonk

Address: Corsendonk 5 | Oud-Turnhout, Antwerp 2360, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Antwerp
Price Range: $90 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Priorij Corsendonk 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Priorij Corsendonk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing