We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depressive restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Square

The Square
Reserve with
The Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #462 of 1,410 Restaurants in Antwerp
Price range: $17 - $49
Cuisines: European, Central European, French, Belgian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Square, located in the Radisson Blu Astrid hotel, is a very pleasant restaurant for dining during the evening or to enjoy a quick lunch during the day. The restaurant is situated in a unique location in Antwerp. The meter-high windows of the restaurant offer views of the Koningin Astridplein and one of the most beautiful station buildings in the world, the Central Station
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Depressive restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We were late, 14:00, the waitress has nobody else to serve but it took one hour and a half to eat a hamburger... Service really slow, meat nice but small portions. Overpriced

Helpful?
Thank Joublietout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    37
    11
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good quality, small portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We did ate here when we stayed in the Hotel. If you only take the main course this will be a bit small if you are a bit hungry.
if you sit in summertime at the windows this can be hot or blinding because of the sun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DutchRubyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
255 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Overpriced Hotel Restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I usually avoid hotel restaurants. However, it was the last night of over a week stay, my colleague was tired, so we ate "in". We were encouraged to consider the buffet they had that night but were told that a menu was available. We both selected the buffet. They had a good mix of food, but most of it was quite bland. We weren't offered bread although about 30 minutes later they were offering it. I ordered a drink that was forgotten until we reminded the staff. This was easily the most overpriced, blandest food in over a week spent in Belgium.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ModerationForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel restaurant with class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very nice & modern restaurant.
Classy served dishes.
Super Cesar salade.

One can invite their bussines associates or customers without leaving the hotel.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good food but bitter taste from stressed staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We visited the Square with a group. Most of us ordered a fixed menu with adapted wines. Some wanted to eat from the menu, the waiter showed to be very unpleased with this.
The bread served as appetizer was clearly frozen before being served. The starter, a salad of quail, was very tasty and originally served. The main course, lamb with some pistachio crumb, was plain but tasty. Wine servings were delayed several times. The dessert, a selection of Belgian cheeses, was disappointing. Some of the cheeses were stale and the waiter served white wine instead of proposing red wine. Also, no bread was served with the cheeses.
Before leaving the staff mixed up with the billing system. They were very unfriendly and did not let the people go before everybody showed his bill. Obviously there were stressed to the limit from dealing with only a small group. Therefore, I would not recommend The Square for group diners. Certainly they gave a terrible impression to our visitors from all over Europe of what hospitality means in Belgium..

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rabbit_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Square also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to The Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing