We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over an hour to wait for mussels, then told they had none left!”
Review of Jeanty's

Jeanty's
Reserve with
Jeanty's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #394 of 1,424 Restaurants in Antwerp
Cuisines: Belgian, European, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“over an hour to wait for mussels, then told they had none left!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Three of us went yesterday about 9pm to a half full restaurant and ordered fairly soon after. At 10pm we were told there was some kind of mistake in the kitchen and there were no mussels left. Rather annoyed we nearly left but it was pouring with rain and we thought we wouldnt get in anywhere else. So on the back of being offered a free dessert we ordered alternatives. What came was good but after finishing the course and ordereing our dessert our original waiter asked us if we were still waiting for our main course! The waitress who apologised for the delay was helpful but their whole system of service needs to be lloked at. Rather chaotic!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank derekeaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    39
    19
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, but takes long time to come.”
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

I just had a fish soup which was great, but my friends who had a two course meal had to wait for more than 90 min until the main course came.
Service is medium.
So if you have lots of time, than he there, but definatly not recommendable for a quick lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jogisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den haag
Level Contributor
251 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“How is it possible that a great meal can be so cheap??!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

For less than 100 euro's the four of us had a 3 course meal and wine and water. But also they served us a little exquisit amuse of cheese croquet and tuna salad. The food was excellent. Good soup, a lovely main course and a delicious desert. Amazing. Friendly women serving, it was a very nice evening out!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CoenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant: good service, excellent food”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have been here several times and everytime I enjoyed my diner at Jeanty's. Good service and excellent food. Try the meat or fish menu>really great food (and a lot of food :) for a sharp price !

Mariska

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariskaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, good service, bad luck with the food”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

When we visited Antwerp we had heard that this was a nice restaurant to go for dinner. We decided to take mussels, a typical Belgian dish. The waitress was nice and we did not have to wait too long. The food tasted well, so we were quite happy. Outside it was very windy and rainy and since we were on the terrace of the restaurant (with a temporary roof since it was winter and windows on all sides) it felt like we were inside a tent, which was quite an interesting experience.

The bad thing however was that we both felt sick after a few hours. Maybe we were unlucky and had some bad mussels, but it definitely was a bad ending for what was a nice dinner. Giving them the benefit of the doubt, I think we would try once more.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kamukwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeanty's also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Jeanty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing