We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Antwerp”

Museum Mayer van den Bergh
Ranked #17 of 153 things to do in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mayer van den Bergh was an avid art collector in the 19th century, and the best of his collection is displayed in this small museum.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place in Antwerp”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

After Rockox House and Rubens we wondered if we'd seen enough art, but didn't want to miss Mad Meg. So glad we went to Museum Mayer van den Berg to do this. A varied collection of exemplar pieces in many media, from 8th to 19th Century, and lovely staff too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    87
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“We went for Mad Meg but found so much more”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The museum is a real find. It was on our list because of the Breugels (Dulle Griet/ Census at Bethlehem) and of course these were incredible but we found so much more. As the guy below said, the cherrystone necklace- wow- each individually carved and little faces on them- fabulous. The wooden carvings on arrival are superb, the flow of robes/ garments in wood- exceptional. I know I should have hated the ivory carvings but they are so good especially the hinged one. This place is a must see. On advice from a tip below we paid 10 euro for the combi ticket with Rubens house so really good value. Thank you Mr Mayer vdB for having had such exceptional taste in your very short life- we read Mad Meg cost 500 francs . This is the sort of place you could visit umpteen times and fall in love with something different on each visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CPFCeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely house museum”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The oldest painting in the Netherlands is held in this building, and the stained glass, wallpaper, and furnishings upstairs make this a mix of a gorgeous mansion and a private museum. I loved it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Americandiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,449 reviews
571 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 857 helpful votes
“One of the better small museums anywhere”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This museum deserves its rating on the strength of Brueghel's Dulle Griet alone, but it contains many other treasures that reflect the taste of the man who assembled this collection. It is housed in a mansion that has been adapted for museum use and has recently acquired a new wing used for special exhibitions. It is well worth spending a couple of hours in.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank operalover939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Breughels are worth it”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Buy a joint ticket with the Rubens House to get a deal. There is a lot of stuff here, some of it not so great and labeling is minimal. However when we reached the Breughel room upstairs our visit seemed totally worth while.
Awesome paintings!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank beleclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Mayer van den Bergh also viewed

 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Museum Mayer van den Bergh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing