We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No seafood platter and questionable service”
Review of Chez Rini

Chez Rini
Ranked #637 of 1,427 Restaurants in Antwerp
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
477 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“No seafood platter and questionable service”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We went to Chez Rini to eat a seafood platter. What a disappointment that they only serve this when ordered up-front. We have been to many restaurants to eat seafood and never have we experienced that you need to order in advance and this is a fish shop and renowned seafood restaurant and we couldn't have it! In any case, they had plenty of other choices so we went for oysters - which were very good - and shrimp croquettes - which never came as the waitress forgot to order them - and lobster, which again was good. We got free coffee as a gesture for the omission of the croquettes. The restaurant was awfully hot. All in all we were disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    49
    15
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
622 reviews
413 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Food probably decent, service not up to par”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This could so easily be an exciting restaurant. Shame that they blow their chances to be succesful. Good location with ample parking possibilities, original interior decoration, food probably decent, but it did not impress me at all.
On the downside: on the terrace outside clients cope with truck exchaust and noise, and with smokers. And the service is just below any acceptable level. They could as well shout in your face: "you don't have to be here".

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gonzalo_de_Berceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“fresh fish”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The restaurant is located behind a fish shop. I had a table in the first part of the restaurant close to the shop and had all the time the feeling of being at the sea side: it's decorated with fisherman's material and there is the smell of fresh fish. I took a weekend lunch of 20 EUR (small salad with herring as entree and for main course the red bass) which was very good. I can recommend the white house wine (always a risk in restaurants). The staff was very friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just want to go back”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

After being twice at this restaurant, we can only say that we definitely will be going back. In front you first walk through the fish shop where you can see and smell the freshness of the fish, which is perfectly translated onto your plate in the restaurant. Both time we went with friends who really are into cooked fish and they as well cannot wait to go back. At the end of the meal to our great surprise, even though specialized in fish, the desert simply was to die for;
Great overthere is too that they set up theme evenings in case you want to go for lobster or scampis dinner at very affordable prices!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hugobelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a find”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

found this place by my office in Antwerp. amazing mussels for dinner one night and today for the lunch special, white fish with dill sauce and pea soup for Euro 13.75. amazing and fresh. would recommend for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank don188636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Rini also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Chez Rini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing