We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped and overly-trodden by tour groups...”

Rubens House (Rubenshuis)
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.43*
and up
1 Hour Antwerp Citytourbus
Ranked #6 of 156 things to do in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,095 reviews
603 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
“Cramped and overly-trodden by tour groups...”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been a fan of Pieter Paul Rubens' work for most of my life. So you might think that visiting the Rubenshuis might be the fulfillment of a dream for me. Quite the opposite. While they have done a wonderful job, I am sure, of decorating the house to give a fascinating idea of what it was like when Rubens lived there, I found the whole experience irritating - partly because most of the rooms are small and you have to share them with one tour group after another.

The one part of the house that I really liked was Rubens studio, the largest room in the house. I sat on a couch in the middle and enjoyed taking in the selection of large paintings displayed there. That was the culmination of the tour of the house I suppose. Then it was back into the cramped hallways, which I got through as quickly as possible so I get out into the open spaces and breathe again. Disappointing, for sure, although I don't know how it could be otherwise given the circumstances.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Charming_Karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    855
    588
    140
    27
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Different view of Rubens”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Rubens was a prolific artist, so I think anyone who has ever been to a museum has seen a Rubens painting (or three or four). It was great to see how a very successful artist of his day would have lived. The courtyard of the home was a particular highlight.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jxn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A glimpse into the life of a great painter and businessman”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Though the museum does not display many of Rubens' most famous paintings, it is a pleasant house, which walks you through the astonishing life of a man who was not only a great artist, but someone who knew how to promote himself with the powerful of his time. There is a very beautiful small portrait of his second wife, Helene Fourment, showing all the delicacy that Rubens was (sometimes) capable of.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cloudtail10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
478 reviews
298 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Wonderfull old house that gives you a good idea how Rubens lived and worked.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a perfect example of how a house of a rich person looked like in the time Rubens lived. It also shows his work place. Don't miss this !

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveladdict3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fascinating Sculptures”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

very calm and beautiful house...i am not much into arts, but i found the paints beautiful and the sculptures fascinating..i was particularly impressed by the sculptures of Hercules (2 nos.) .definitely worth a visit..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank krishcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubens House (Rubenshuis) also viewed

 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Rubens House (Rubenshuis)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing