We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cathedral”

Cathedral of Our Lady
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.60*
and up
Private Tour: Antwerp Trip from Brussels
More Info
$183.44*
and up
Brussels Super Saver: Private Brussels Sightseeing Tour plus Antwerp Day Trip...
More Info
$44.26*
and up
Antwerp Half-Day Trip from Brussels
Ranked #3 of 159 things to do in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Warnsveld, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful cathedral”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Both exterior and interior are wonderful. Inside you will also find classical paintings by e.g. PP Rubens. Admission fee.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,545
    721
    147
    38
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must visit in Antwerpen!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

One of the most impressive cathedrals I've ever visit!
4 Rubens' pictures and the most beautiful altar. Stop by the cathedral during city walking!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Uruydana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“a beautiful building”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

we had a day trip to Antwerp during a visit to Bruges.
We loved the Cathedral. There was an exhibition of religious art which was fascinating.
Even the construction work going on at the cathedral did not spoil the visit.
The architectural detail is amazing and the pulpit would not have looked out of place at Hogwarts it was so fancy.
Lots of places for quite contemplation and lighting of candles for 1 euro
they had a place to do this in the entrance of the cathedral so that people could pray without being charged to enter.
worth a visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank davidsgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Really impressive cathedral. Our problem probably was that it was our 5th (and the last one) cathedral in a week time. So we were lacking huge surprises, Ruben s Exhibition is a must have.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zzipers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beauty of Rubens :-) ... Art Lovers Paradise :-)”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

we are a family of 4 ( kids aged 9 & 4 yrs ) and used Brussels City Tours to organise the trip. It is a half day tour and starts at 2 pm

We visited Antwerp with the sole objective of viewing Rubens paintings in the Cathedral. The Flemish Baroque maestro was, I understand greatly influenced by works of Michelangelo, Da Vinci , Raphael and was considered in his own right one of the greatest ...

Was very keen on viewing the 4 masterpieces in this cathedral and happy to state was satiated at the end of the visit :-) :-) ..... the cathedral by itself is a beauty and is worth every minute spent here but the masterpieces are indeed breathtaking and worth the visit .... It was visual ecstasy and i will for sure WILL come again ( God willing :-)

My reco's are
1. If you are with a Tour Guide you will understand more of the Cathedral and the paintings and its relevance .. try to do this if you cost budget permits
2. If you are on your own, dont worry :-) .. the cathedrall has free guides at prefixed timing and 4 languages are on offering. this is excellent service and they deserve kudos for this .. But for the guides you are wondering as to the antecedence / circumstances of the paintings
3. Plan for a good 2-3 hours to see the place end to end and enjoy the entire cathedral
4. there are good restaurants right opposite and post the visit you can enjoy a espresso / beer and look at the photo;s again :-)
5. there is a small store selling tintin stuff here and it is quite quaint and original... the product is same price as tintin store in grand place or tintin musee and you can rest assured buy
6. there is a 16th century eating place a few hundred metres opposite of the cathedral and time permitting you should have a meal ..

Overall a great visit and thoroughly enjoyed the cathedral and paintings :-)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sai_Giridhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral of Our Lady also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Cathedral of Our Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing