We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Chocolates”

Leonidas Chocolates
Ranked #4 of 93 Shopping in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These chocolate shops are as popular as Starbucks in the U.S.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
845 reviews
303 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
“Delicious Chocolates”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

You will be spoiled for choice in selecting which chocolates to buy when you are in Belgium but since the Leonidas brand is not so familiar to me and theres only 1 store in Toronto we decided to buy Leonidas rather than Godiva (which has several stores in Toronto).

There are different kinds of chocolates and I wanted to buy some as gifts to bring to Manila for family members but I was told by the Store clerk that it will melt at a certain temperature so I decided to just buy some for me to eat .These chocolates are nice to give as gifts since they are placed in cute gift boxes.

Definitely a MUST BUY when you are in Belgium.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    28
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Commercial and not that focused on quality”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

While we tried to stay away from the commercial brands (we did not try Godiva), we decided to try Leonidas to compare with other traditional and still family owned chocolateries. The staff was very friendly, however, you can feel they are not there for you having a great experience like in Galler, Mary, Dumon…, but to sell you chocolate. You feel somehow rushed to make your selections and leave. We tried few chocolates and while the white chocolate with strawberries was the best, all of them were too sweet. They have praline with walnut and a piece of walnut on the top. The walnut was mushy, sign that it was not that fresh.

If we ever came back in Belgium this is a place we will not come back. With some many others to come back or try for the first time, there is no reason for us to do so.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandrita007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Eating them as I type! Hmmmmmmmmn!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

These are some of the best chocolates I have ever had. We chose a Small box (£18) and let the assistant pick the Chocs. She chose well! The box was nicely gift wrapped and the whole shop and presentation was well done. Most importantly, I can confirm that they taste fabulous. Great for gifts, but fantastic to indulge yourself.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Legspinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
343 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“i really was impressed, i miss this place”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

the chocolate is of very good quality, you should try every type they have. prices are smaller compared with other famous places in the city. packed in small plastic bags, the small chocolate candies and chocolates can also be a perfect gift for the loved ones.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank deired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
245 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“One on every corner, good quality and pretty packaging.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Nice for a gift, you can personalize your selections, order a sample box selected by the staff, or take pre-packaged selections if you are rushed. Makes a nice gift.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2esmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonidas Chocolates also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Leonidas Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing