We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 AM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Antwerp
from $27.60
More Info
from $28.80
More Info
from $23.00
More Info
from $42.60
More Info
Reviews (2,092)
Filter reviews
2,092 results
Traveler rating
886
813
266
75
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
886
813
266
75
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station butterfly house sea lions big cats animals seem animal enclosures few hours beautiful park worth a visit city centre rainy day entrance fee monkeys okapi species seal feeding
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,092 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

The Antwerp zoo is a nice place to spend an afternoon with your children. It is nicely designed, lots of greenery. You can bring your own picnic or eat in one of their restaurants. We had pizza at the Latteria, it was good. Don’t expect them to be as in Italy, but they were good & the kids ate them up. There is a big variety of animals, the highlight for the kids was the sea lion show, it lasts 10 to 15 minutes but the big downside is that the whole show is in Flemish. Entry to the zoo is Eur 26.50 for adults and 21.50 for kids (3-11y). Plan approx 2h to walk around the zoo, an extra hour if you eat there.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Wendy121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

I have known the Zoo for ages, and it was good to be back after some time to see the changes and the evergreens. Now as an ex Antwerp citizen of course I was a bit sceptical about the big event that Pairi Daiza is. And the fact that the most honorable scientific institution "ZOO" (1844!) reacted as a prude & jealous Victorian lady, was "not very amused indeed", did not help to counter the amazing and creative new Walloon parc (that, indeed, got the Panda's). So, is it still worth going to this small Zoo? Yep. Not only as it's next to Central Station (no parking fee), no long excursion to get there. It is really small scale, which can be really comfy (PD is challengingly enormous). By the clever use of different levels, the Zoo is in fact much bigger than its official surface. I loved the brand new area with the big apes, as always loved the oldies (the surprising night pavillion, reptiles, Egyptian giraffe & elephant palace, the bird sanctuary (a most beautiful wall feature shows lovely feathers) and the amazing aquarium, gold specked piranha's included....Past trhe flamingo pond here you have real 'patina', bronze artworks and modern techniques cleverly mingled together. The restaurant has a huge terrace and serves even original Brussels waffles, which I enjoyed listening to a free afternoon concert..

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank AnnefromBelgium111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Don't go there! The animals are still in tiny cages like some 20 years ago and the gorillas must be depressed and lonely.
I would never recommend this place to anybody.
Please do something about it, Zoo Antwerp!

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank Sonja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Very old, but modernized zoo in the middle of the city center, next door to the Centraal Station, train station.
All the big and small, known animals, one next to the other are represented. You don't have to walk for miles, which is very good for children, strollers and wheelchairs.
My favorites since last year: the butterflies!!!
It makes me feel like a kid in a candy shop and I try to go ones a year.
They continually improve the habitats. Animals are well taken care for.
They also have several shows a day (birds, sea lions,...).
You can buy a ticket train included, so you don't have to find parking space.
You can also go for just half a day and spent the other half shopping in the city.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Christel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018

First the negatives: admission is too expensive (25 euro for an adult, around 20 for children). Some animal cages, particularly those of apes and monkeys, seem too small.

The positives: situated next to the train station, it is very conveniently located. It seems to emphasize conservation, and many enclosures tried to replicate animal habitats. There is a variety of areas, including a "coral reef" aquarium, a magical butterfly garden, a bird house and a monkey house. A large range of animals are here, including elephants, hippos, big cats, lemurs, gorillas, lemurs, a dromedary, lizards and many types of exotic bird.

We went in August, and although it was a warm day, most animals were active. As we went later in the day it was not overcrowded, as zoos can be.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank RachelRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews