We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True - a wonderful building, but watch out!”
Review of Central Station

Central Station
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.20*
and up
3-Hour Antwerp Bike Tour
Ranked #1 of 154 things to do in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Leopold II had this unusual rail station built as a neo-Baroque monument to the railway age in 1905.
London
Level Contributor
184 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“True - a wonderful building, but watch out!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've long admired this stunning, and until recently little recognised, architectural masterpiece. The major reconstruction completed in 2007 has made it far more user-friendly and brought many more direct trains. The wide range of cafes and restaurants in the boulevards help you soak up a more relaxed 'Continental' ambience, but be careful, it seems the area is something of a crime hotspot - see the thread on TA at http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g188636-i586-k5211245-Alert_Central_train_station_thief-Antwerp_Antwerp_Province.html.

We had a wallet stolen in a branch of the Panos chain just opposite the station just the other day; no doubt very unlucky to have this experience for the first time after many years of travel, but I didn't really expect it in Belgium.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,830
    1,592
    185
    19
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Central Station”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Large,Clean and beautiful.The nicest station I have been in. The architecture is phenominal, did I mention clean ? The rest of Europe is just a train ride away.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“What a size! Great Architecture.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Its abig place, so allow time for finding where you need to be. Stop to look at all the great architecture. Have a belgian waffle. Great access to europe. We went to Holland in around an hour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank djando77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
683 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Impressive Station”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Large, busy Station right on edge of City Centre. Lovely building. Tourist info at ground level was very convenient on arrival.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jandlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Is this a train station?”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A magnificent and beautiful train station is the only way to describe it. Antwerp Train station is one of the best I have seen in the countries that I have visited in terms of its architecture. Resplendent - you might think you are in a castle- it is mainly a glass domed structure supported by arched vaults .. and lavishly decorated. Must have reflected the nature of Belgium and its king during its heydays...

Once you come out the diamon shops are on the left and the otels are on the right and the in front, the vista of the main road you have everything you want from Belgium- chocs and beer.

What more can I say. ..so go there and see it for yourself.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank y0rkshire_0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Station also viewed

 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing