We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful multi-level train station”
Review of Central Station

Central Station
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.32*
and up
3-Hour Antwerp Bike Tour
Ranked #1 of 153 things to do in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Leopold II had this unusual rail station built as a neo-Baroque monument to the railway age in 1905.
Toronto
Level Contributor
142 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful multi-level train station”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Must be one of the largest train station I've visited. It has an interesting design quite different from others I've been in that it has 3 or 4 levels for the tracks house in a new addition to the existing old station. Beautiful architecture in its great splendor.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank seaguy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,925
    1,623
    188
    19
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grand Prize”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Another prize of Antwerp is the Central Station, completely renovated and remodeled to accommodate the TGV and EuroStar trains; right next door is the Antwerp Zoo; it's one of Europe's Gems.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranst, Belgium
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Thé most fantastic train cathedral of the world”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is the most amazing train station I'v every seen. New York and Tokyo station took this as an model, but the original is better that the copies. The reonvation and new levels are a must to see for all train fanatics

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mja2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic even for non-train geeks!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I travel by train around Europe quite a bit but I have not visited a station that comes close to Antwerp Central. Absolutely awesome, and worthy of a visit if you're in Belgium!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank evapor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing just to see the architecture”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a magnificent railway station. I only wish we had taken the train to Antwerp now so that I could have experienced this amazing place in more "genuine" circumstances other than just walking in the front door, saying "WOW", exploring up to the platforms, then out. I wish I had more time to spend there. There are cafes available too for those with more time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SDCTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Station also viewed

 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing