We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean & comfortable with helpful hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aan de leien B&B

Aan de leien B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antwerp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aan de leien B&B
Ranked #40 of 115 Antwerp B&B and Inns
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clean & comfortable with helpful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were two friends spending a break in Belgium and decided to make our base in Antwerp with side trips to Ghent and Bruges. Tony and Jenny were very helpful hosts, giving us good directions to the sites we wanted to see, suggesting other lesser known ones that might interest us as well as public transport, restaurant and shopping tips. We really enjoyed the food and atmosphere at nearby Mampoko, a popular restaurant with locals.

This is a large and spotlessly clean flat on the seventh floor with good views of the city and apparently there is also a penthouse suite available on the eighth floor too. We did not not find privacy to be a problem at all and rarely saw other guests though other rooms were booked.

We had breakfast at 8 am all three mornings and others seemed to breakfast later. Fresh fruit, yogurt, orange juice, cereal, chocolate (this is Belgium after all) toast, coissants and a variety of breads, cheese and cold meat were always available, eggs could be cooked to order and the coffee was excellent. A roll of foil was on hand and we were encouraged to make a packed lunch to take with us - a perk we were happy to accept.

Beds were very comfortable with quality linens and the ensuite bath was large and modern. The flat at first appears to be in a boring office block but inside its very Euromodern with clean lines and interesting art and furnishings. We caught sight of the two cats once but they were mostly out of the way. The location was good - parking was available for a fee - quite walkable but trams if needed, and provided a quiet night's sleep. Tony and Jenny were gracious, precise and interesting hosts.

Room Tip: Ask for the penthouse or the large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I am currently staying at this b&b on a business trip. I am spending a few days in the penthouse and I feel very lucky ! The suite is beautiful, clean and comfortable and what a view ! The terrace overlooking the town is really amazing.
The owners are a lovely old couple. They are extremely kind and cultivated.
The b&b is very well situated.
The home made breakfast is delicious !
I already know where I'll be staying next time I come back to Antwerp.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forli, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed in the big room with ensuite bathroom. I was alone I wanted to stay in a confortable and homely bed and breakfast. This was just perfect. The owners where extremely kind and eager to give me hints about what was on in Antwerp in those days. The breakfast was rich and good, and the room and the bathroom were always spotlessly clean. The b&b it at the 7th floor of a building just a few tram stops far from the Centraal Station (but the host will give you very clear directions when you book your room) and it is a stone's throw from the city centre. Would definitely come back or suggest it to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irekrety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

I stayed in the smaller of the two rooms (the blue room) with my husband, while my friends stayed in the bigger room. As the other reviews say, there isn't much privacy, particularly as the rooms are in an apartment which is all on one-level. The lack of privacy will feel particularly acute for those staying in the smaller room, as you will have to use a toilet situated in the hallway. Which I think is also shared by the owners.

Despite this, I have no other complaints and enjoyed my stay. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable, it was quiet, it's ony a 15 min walk to the centre and there is parking if you need it. The breakfast was particularly good for the price. For only €2.50 a head, we had bread, pastries, cheese & ham, fruit, yoghurt, coffee and a wide selection of teas. The landlady even suggested that we use anything we couldn't eat for our lunch and left some foil on the table in case we wanted to make up some sandwiches. I've never come across this before in a B&B and appreciated the gesture.

So, if you're fanatical about your privacy, you might want to reconsider staying here. But otherwise, I would definitely recommend it. I've stayed in far worse in Antwerp for a much higher price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaroBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend this past November. The price is right, the location is great (walkable to everything or take the tram) and the room (better than most 3 star hotels) was nice with modern amenities, quality linens and a comfortable bed; however it's just plain odd.

While B&B's are typically in someone's home, this is in someone's flat so there isn't as much distance between your room and the other rooms. We didn't feel as if we had any privacy and tip toed in at night whispering the whole time we were in our room. Plus, not only are the owners in the bedroom next to you (or down the hall in the kitchen making noise), their extra clothes are in your closet and toiletries in the bathroom.

Breakfast (included in our rate) wasn't worth it - just decline and grab something in the city. The food is basically rolls, packaged ham, and plastic yogurt cups; although, the chocolate bishops are a tasty touch - if odd for breakfast. There's just one dining table and you're forced to sit with other couples. Luckily, we had a nice couple next to us and enjoyed our conversations with them, but if we hadn't it would have just been awkward.

All in all, it is a really nice place but it made us feel as if we were invading someone's home; so if you're looking for privacy, I suggest you stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of Privacy
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Londoner_from_IS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2006

My wife and I had a great time at the Vandepitte B&B. The location is just on the first ring road and a 15 minute walk from the city center.

The hosts were very nice. As we only had a short amount of time in Antwerp, we appreciated the fact that they didn't want to sit and chat for an hour upon arrival. Their house is wonderfully decorated in modern and ethnic styles.

The room was fantastic, with automatic shades that eliminate all sunlight. The bed was very comfortable and the bath was large and had a shower with a multitide of jets.

Hands down, the most elegantly presented breakfast I have ever encountered at any B&B.

One note of caution, if you are allergic to animals you may want to reconsider. The vandepitte's have two cats and one small dog. They usually stay out of the way however, but you can lure them out if you wish.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank sfmwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.8 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.5 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#16 of 73 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quatre20cinq
Quatre20cinq
#3 of 115 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
De Koning van Spanje
De Koning van Spanje
#26 of 115 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Rosier 10
B&B Rosier 10
#21 of 115 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Because The Night
Because The Night
#25 of 115 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aan de leien B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan de leien B&B

Property: Aan de leien B&B
Address: Britselei 49 Bus 6, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Room with double bed (1.80 m wide and 2.1 m long with two Jensen mattresses), TV and private bathroom and 2 hand-wash basins, bath and sports shower, breakfast for 2 persons included. 2. Room with double bed (1.4 m wide and 2 m long), TV and private bathroom with hand-wash basin and shower; the toilet is in the hall of the apartment close to your room and is not used by the other guests; breakfast for 2 included. 3. Penthouse (non-smoking, 70 sq m) on the eighth floor with private entrance, abounding in daylight and large sunny terrace (40 sq m) with panoramic view over the city spans the entire roof of the building and offers all facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing